4 More – Still not impressed

I’ll try to keep this short and sweet as I have tried 4 mascaras since the last time I wrote.  None of them passed the test for New Year’s Eve, though, so I went back to the one I had been using – Loreal Extra Volume Collagen Mascara.  That gives me some pretty kick-ass lashes.  The only drawbacks are that you will need to check for what I will deem as melting and it doesn’t hold up the curl.  Now on to the expensive brands…

Buxom Lash Mascara from Bare Escentuals
Started off the day on the right foot, look-wise.  Application-wise it was a test in dexterity as the wand was bigger than my eye.  But it looked great on, so I left the house full of hope.  By 10:00 AM the mascara did not look great off.  It didn’t even make it until lunch.  By the evening it failed miserably on the sex test (though I’m not sure I’ve used a mascara that passes with an A) and I only needed to remove the mascara from my face because there was none left on my lashes.

Hourglass Film Noir Full Spectrum Mascara
This one had a sexy name so I tried them out of order in the box. Overall, good.  It didn’t do anything for length, so if you have short lashes, they will become a wall of fat midget lashes.  It did have some staying power, not spectacular stamina, but at least as much as I’d expect.  This one I will continue to use and, after a week’s worth of training camp, it might make the cut.

Too Faced Lashlight
I do have another Too Faced mascara that I love.  It makes my lashes look gorgeous and it is okay for the workday, but it punches out at 5 o’clock.   So, I had high expectations for this version.  It didn’t even come close to its same branded counterpart.  No volume, no length, no color.  The best you could say about my lashes was that they looked wet, just out of the shower.  Then it only made it to early afternoon.  Fail.

Make Up Forever Smoky Lash
I had used this mascara before, but I couldn’t remember anything about it.  Turns out, it’s pretty decent.  Roughly the same review as the Film Noir above.  A little bit darker, a little bit longer, a little less volume (but the kohl black color makes up for that).  I’m running out of ways to describe mascara – can you tell?

The quest continues.

