Home Alone: Day 2

I really should just title these posts by craft project, because if I regaled you with every other thought in my day, you would be as bored as I am.  This is the problem with being in such a long relationship, the majority of our friends are mutual.  The few that are more mine are busy/on the other side of the country/etc.

Anyway, I went to the Christmas Tree Shop and A.C. Moore yesterday and, for $23, created this three piece decoration for the mantle.  Currently the bedding colors are gray, black and cream, but I’m looking to add greens, blues, or oranges with a new comforter.  I also have pale key lime green curtains that aren’t up because I want to move and refuse to take the time to drill holes.

Anyway, I found the vases for $1 each at the Christmas Tree Shop in a wide variety of colors.  Had it been true to my color palette, I loved the yellows, pinks, and reds.

I went to A.C. Moore for the flowers, though I could have saved $10 by getting them at CTS.  It’s just that CTS doesn’t have that many flowers and I wanted to see all my options before making a decision.  This is always a hurdle when I’m buying something I actually plan on buying.  I also bought little glass stones from ACM to fill the vases with, but was too cheap to buy enough to actually fill them, so I’ll have to go back or add something else.  Maybe real stones, or rice, or uncooked beans.  Something really creative…haha.

In other news, I have the cutest kitten in the world:

