Birchbox – July

My second month of Birchbox came on time in the second week of the month.  Equally as useful products, but I’m not so enamored with most of them:

Alterna Bamboo UV+ Color Protection Fade-Proof Fluide – You’re supposed to put this serum in your hair to protect the color from the sun.  There is no discernible way for me to tell if this works or not.  I have no idea how long my color lasts normally.  I dye it as soon as I see a gray hair (I wish this was less often than it is!) and whenever I get bored with the color.  Nevertheless, I will bring this on vacation with me, but it is not something I would ever seek out to buy.

Eyeko Skinny Liquid Eyeliner in Black – First thought = Birchbox sent a full size eyeliner…AND it’s liquid eyeliner…AND it has the cool pen/marker tip!!  This is awesome!!  Second thought end of Day 1 = This smudged pretty easily.  But it is hot out today.  Maybe I’m sweaty.  Third thought start of Day 2 = So easy to put on!  This is awesome!!  Fourth thought end of Day 2 = This shit doesn’t stay on my eye.  I’d have better luck with watercolor paint.  This is stupid.  WHY DO PEOPLE BUY EYELINER THAT DOESN’T STAY ON YOUR EYE?!  HOW IS THE COMPANY STILL IN BUSINESS?!  WHO WOULD PAY $15 FOR THIS SHIT?!  This is currently occupying the space in the bottom of my trash barrel.

Harvey Prince Hello – Another perfume that gives me a headache.  Thumbs down.

Supergoop! City Sunscreen Serum – This little packaging was very useful because I would have totally forgot to bring sunscreen to my kickball double header.  But I wanted to try the new product, so I was properly defended against UV rays.  That’s where my praise ends.  Notice that this sunscreen is called a “serum.”  I have no desire to cover my body in a serum ever again.

This month Birchbox teamed up with Glamour and provided “Lifestyle Extras”:

Tea Forte Minteas – My favorite part of the box!  Delicious, minty, cocoa breathmints shaped like tea leaves in a tin shaped liked a tea leaf.  Adorable, useful, practical.

Birchbox Exclusive Earbuds – Neon green and hot pink headphones “designed just for me.”  They’re earbuds.  They work.  They don’t hurt my ears.  Success.

