Umpteenth time’s a charm?

Okay, so the title of this post was just an excuse to use the word “umpteenth.”  It comes up as an answer on crossword puzzles all the time and it’s a ridiculous looking and sounding word.  What’s not to love?

Aaannndddd back to the point of this post.  I rejoined the Become An Ex website.  I’ve wrote about it before…2 years ago, actually, and said I was going to join when I got back from vacation, but never did.  Well, I’m going on vacation, again.  September 12th.  So, I have set my quit date for September 21st.

Yes, I have a QUIT DATE!

(if I knew how to make a terrified emoticon, that’s what would go here)

Step 1 – Track your cigarettes

I tracked my cigarettes on Thursday through Sunday.  I am surprised and embarrassed by the results.  I’m smoking more cigarettes in a day than I ever have before.  I can’t even bring myself to say the amount, let alone write it down.  It’s fucking disgusting.  The reasons and times that I smoke have completely changed since the last time I did this 4 years ago (maybe that’s why this time is more difficult?).  I smoke most of my cigarettes at work (I used to not smoke at work at all) and the least on the weekend (except when I’m drinking :-/ ).  Most of the time the only trigger for me to have a cigarette is time or place.  “Oh, it’s 10AM, I think I should have a morning break,” or “I have nothing else to do while I walk to the T.”  They aren’t exactly triggers I can avoid.  People who are strongly urged to have one when they have coffee will stop drinking coffee for the first few days, switch to tea, or even drink coffee at a different time/place.  I don’t have this option.  I can’t stop walking places or going to work.

