I Quit Smoking

See title.  I think I can safely say that.  It’s been 34 days.  And I’ve smoked less than a pack.  That’s roughly 325 cigarettes that I have not smoked.  Three hundred and twenty five.  That is a lot of cigarettes.  That is 16 and 1/4 packs.  That is $145.  One hundred and forty five dollars.  ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY FIVE DOLLARS!

Okay, I’m done showing off my arithmetic skills (though, I must admit, they’re pretty impressive…as are most of my math skills).  I’m just astonished and proud of the numbers.  It’s also good to remind myself.  Because for those 325 cigarettes that I haven’t smoked, I’ve had the urge to smoke at least 500.  I think I’m finally at a point where I don’t want one every time I’m outside.  But will I ever stop wanting them altogether?  I doubt it.  And that’s kind of depressing.

Back to being positive.  After 13 years of smoking, I’m not anymore.  It’s weird, really.  Like getting out of a 13 year relationship (I imagine).  That’s half my life.  There’s one reason to look forward to turning 27.  I don’t know what to do with myself.  But I won’t start smoking, again.  I’m past that.  I may continue to have one when I’m drinking, but if I don’t remember it, it doesn’t count, right?

