Calorie Counting – how much is too much?

Over the past three years I had gained over 20 pounds. I’m only 5’2″ so that felt like a TON of weight, and even more pants sizes. Last spring I started to get really disciplined with exercising. I even had a goal of exercising every day for 30 days, and I met it. But, without any results on the weight/size front.

So, I knew I had to start watching what I ate. I re-downloaded MyFitnessPal. I’d used it in the past, but without the consistency and dedication that it demands.  I plugged in my stats – height, weight, activity level (sedentary 😦 because I sit at a desk all day), and my goal, which is to lose 20 pounds at the rate of 1 pound per week.  My Pal over here takes this information, does some calculations and tells me how many calories I should consume in one day to achieve this goal.  The answer is 1200.  1200 goddamn calories.  Let me put that in perspective.  7 beers is about 1200 calories.  2 slices of this cake are over 1400 calories.  Almost everything on the menu at The Cheesecake Factory is over 1200 calories.  It truly seemed impossible to stick to this.

Impossible, but motivating.  When I exercise, I get to eat extra in the amount of calories I burned.  Run 1 mile, earn a glass of wine!  Needless to say, I have lost 9 pounds over the last 5 months.  Not quite 1 pound per week, but it’s progress.  However, I’ve been hovering around the same weight for the past 6 weeks.  It probably has to do with the weddings and birthdays on the schedule, as well as the tendinitis that has kept me from running, and the fact that school started up again in September.

Whatever the reason, I have hit a plateau.  And I’ve become that bitch at work that chimes in with the calorie count for everything.  I hate that bitch.  And I’m her.  And I need to stop.  So…I’ve decided to take a break from MyFitnessPal and the scale for a week.  I’m going to keep up with exercising, and try to eat healthier (instead of getting my calories from Goldfish and kettle corn and wine).  This also coincides with my first meals ordered from Plated, which do have unusually high calorie counts for fresh, home cooked meals.  Hopefully, but the end of next week, I’m not still counting calories in my head.

P.S. Patriots won last night…barely.  I miss Jerod Mayo.  I’m not allowed to buy or wear jerseys anymore, because the players I have all get hurt or traded.jerod-mayo

