Sephora Samples and DIY Makeup Remover

It’s supposed to rain for the rest of the week and I’ve got a couple important things coming up at work, so I won’t be trying any more new mascaras.

When it’s raining, or I’m going to the beach or pool…anything where my face is guaranteed to get wet, I wear Blinc mascara. It doesn’t provide much in the way of volume, but it’s better than nothing and this shit does not move. It’s one of those formulas that creates tubes around each eyelash. I don’t generally put on makeup to go swimming, but last summer I had to go to a bridal shower that was going to be followed up by a pool party. Luckily, I had a sample size of Blinc in my drawer that was up to the challenge, and that’s what I’ll be wearing this week to weather the rainy Nor’easter. I always thought Nor’easter only referred to snow storms. I’m a bad New Englander. FYI it refers to the direction of the storm winds, that’s all.

In the mascara lull (I know you’re heartbroken) I thought I’d review some of the free samples that came with my order of Lashstash. Free samples are one of the best things about ordering from Sephora, although I don’t think they’ve ever converted to a purchase for me, which I assume is the point.

  1. Moisturizing serum.  Soap and Glory Make Yourself Youthful 6 in 1 Super Serum, to be exact. Not sure if my skin looks rejuvenated or any better, for that matter, but this is the best feeling moisturizer I’ve ever put on my face! I generally hate moisturizer, so it is a small sample size. This seems like it’s really thick, but it spreads out smoothly and evenly when applied without being too sticky or heavy. I guess that’s the serum-ness, as opposed to lotion. I love it, and would actually purchase it.  If I had $48 to spend on 1 ounce of anything.
  2. COVER FX Cream Concealer. Felt great, good coverage, but can’t say much more because they sent the wrong color – Neutral Light. I have pink undertones, not yellow, which can be difficult, and even the neutral undertone shade was too yellow.  It does come in a P-Light for pink undertones, which I might try.
    1. Last year, I went to the store to get color matched for foundation. I’m so white the machine didn’t register any color, but the sales person was very helpful and I left a lifetime devotee to Nars Siberia. Yup, that’s how white I am. My foundation color is Siberia.
  3. Sephora Collection Waterproof Eye Makeup Remover. This wasn’t the 3rd sample – it actually came in Lashstash (which is good cross-promoting) and it works great. I used to prefer Almay’s because it came on premoistened pads, so I didn’t need to buy cotton balls. But then I found a DIY one that cost about $6 for the container and the baby shampoo. That amount looks like it’s going to last over a year. I do keep some Almay on hand because it’s easier to travel with, but no matter which way you look at it, I’m saving tons of money this (or tens of dollars, if I’m being realistic).
    1. The makeup remover I put together is about 2 tablespoons of baby shampoo, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and the a bunch of water.  If it’s too sudsy, there’s too much shampoo.  If mascara or eyeliner is tough to remove, add more oil.  I’ve seen a bunch of different version of this with coconut oil, jojoba oil, all kinds of oil.  I had olive oil in stock and it works just fine.  No need to purchase anything new.
  4. My actual 3rd sample was Clinique Acne Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel and I’m sure it works great.  I, however, thought it was a cleanser and tried to wash my face with it in the shower.  Gel + Water = the weirdest, dry feeling skin ever.  Don’t do that.
3 thoughts on “Sephora Samples and DIY Makeup Remover

    • Thank you so much for the reply! It was just a free sample from Sephora, not an actual order. I so appreciate the customer service, though, and I’ll try out the concealer next time I need a new one!

      • Sounds great- We look forward to you trying it out! Please don’t hesitate to contact our customer service if you have any questions.

Comments are closed.