My Makeup Routine – Step 2 – Eyes & Lips

As a reminder of where we were, I went from no makeup in the first picture to my base layer in the second picture:

NoMakeupMakeupBase

 

Next up are lips, eyeshadow and mascara.  **I can never decide on whether or not I use the oxford comma.  I used to religiously, but I’ve noticed that no one really does it any more, so now I find myself typing it and then going back and deleting it.  Thoughts?

EyesandLips

  1. In the top middle, you can see a mini palette from Mary Kay.  My friend won a free makeup party at a wedding expo, so I went, bought two real sized eyeshadows and won this cute little thing.  I actually really like Mary Kay eyeshadow.  It blends well, with just enough pigment.  My mom used to sell it when I was a kid, and the sales kits came with basically coloring by number pictures that you would fill in with their sample eyeshadow, so that’s how I learned to put on makeup.  With this palette, I used Lime from the inside of my eye to up and above the crease.  Then I used the Amber Blaze in the center.
  2. I highlighted under my eyebrow with The Balm’s Mary-Lou Manizer ($24).  Another free sample.  I don’t know where all the makeup I buy ends up, because it seems like most of what I use are free samples.
  3. Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in Lionfish ($20) which I’ll let the company describe as a “deep bronze sheen” – 100% accurate.  A really gorgeous, rich but not overpowering color.  Also, it was another freebie.  I used this to line the top.
  4. Then I used Loreal Infallible Silkissime Eyeliner ($9) in Cobalt blue on the bottom.
  5. Back to the Mary Kay palette for some blue in the corner and crease.  Then I used the darkest color in my Sephora palette ($25) to set the brown eyeliner.
    Eyeshadow
  6. Curled my lashes with my trusty Tweezerman Procurl Lash Curler ($20) [this is an absolute must purchase! despite what you may think, all eyelash curlers are NOT created equal] and applied my Clinique mascara ($20).
  7. My lips were pretty chapped yesterday, so I exfoliated with e.l.f. Lip Exfoliator ($3), moisturized with Burt’s Bees Replenishing Lip Balm with Pomegranate Oil ($3.50), and added a little color and plumping with C.O. Bigelow Mentha Lip Tint in Violet Mint ($7.50).
  8. To top it all off, I use what I like to call face hairspray, NYX Matte Finish Setting Spray ($8).

Voila!

MakeupDone

 

Then, I got dressed, went on a cider tour, and split a growler of Downeast Original Cider.  It tastes like farm fresh apple cider…but with ABV!

cider

One thought on “My Makeup Routine – Step 2 – Eyes & Lips

  1. Pingback: Can I Get Your Number? | Quitters Never Win

Comments are closed.