MyFitnessPal – Back at it!

Zero progress on the fitness front, but I wasn’t really trying, anyway.  I’m back from my week off of counting calories.  It ended up also being a week off from exercise and walking (my Fitbit chart is woefully low), but that was unintentional.

2014-10-20 Fitbit Week

I just had a shit-ton of homework.  On that note, my exercise schedule may be lacking for the next few weeks.  I have a 12 page research paper due November 14th that I haven’t started researching.  I’m writing this here, not because you care, but to continue to remind myself until I panic and start working on it.  I only have 2 weekends to do it, and I plan on being properly hungover for at least half of this one.


MyFitnessPal

I weighed myself this morning for the first time in over a week and only gained about 1lb.  Not bad at all, given that I started almost every day with a chocolate croissant.  Dessert for breakfast is my weakness, and MyFitnessPal does not like dessert for breakfast.

I started logging my food again this morning, with my 215 calorie breakfast of coffee and a Luna bar.  They had a new flavor on sale, Peanut Caramel Cluster.  It’s disgusting.  Don’t buy it.  Stick with Chocolate Dipped Coconut, which tastes like a Mounds bar…YUM!

MyFitnessPal is my calorie tracker of choice.  It has every food possible in it, you can build and save your own meals, and you can scan barcodes of grocery store items and it inputs the correct calories per serving, although figuring out the measurements (is this 1/2 cup of cashews or 1/4?  BIG DIFFERENCE) can be challenging.  Any time I open the app, it shows me how many calories I have left to eat that day and, if I add cardio exercise, it adds however many calories I burn to the total amount I have left to eat, so that’s motivating.

However, I don’t love it’s exercise section.  It doesn’t record any burned calories for push-ups, pull-ups, etc. and the calorie count never matches the treadmill or MapMyRun.  Which brings me to my second annoyance with it, I have too many apps!  I use this for calories, Fitbit for steps, and MayMyRun for runs.  I’ve tried to link MyFitnessPal to import runs from MapMyRun to no avail.  I even emailed them and the reply was something along the lines of ‘try these things, and if those don’t work, it’s MapMyRun’s fault.’  I might try to consolidate at some point, but it seems like a lot of effort.

My daily goal is 1200 calories, which I try to think of as 300 for breakfast, 400 for lunch, and 500 for dinner.  With those counts, I really can’t drink or have dessert.  So, I basically don’t use this on the weekends.  And, yes, I do know that’s undermining everything I’m working towards.  But a girl’s gotta have a life!

2 thoughts on “MyFitnessPal – Back at it!

    • That looks great – I like that all the work outs are for home/no equipment. I’m bookmarking it for when I’m done with PT and with school. I can’t seem to find the time to cook all my meals right now!

Comments are closed.