Mascara Monday – Josie Maran Argan Black Oil Mascara

This is the one mascara out of the LashStash that I’ve been looking forward to most.  I’ve already tried at one time or another most of the ones in the box, and I knew that I really liked at least a few of them.  But this one is brand new to me and the much hyped argan oil had me intrigued.  Josie Maran - Argan Black Oil Mascara

The packaging is a beautiful teal and pink and black.  Maybe it’s because of the “oil” in the name, but I thought this product fell more on the natural end of things (a la Tarte), and sure enough Sephora’s description says “highly effective and natural” so that’s some really good subconscious marketing.  It retails for $22, so it’s well within the range of what I’m willing to spend on mascara.

After extensive research on argan oil (i.e. reading wikipedia), I’ve learned that it comes from a tree in Morocco where they cook with it, drizzle it on bread, etc.  According to Sephora and Josie Maran, argan oil is a moisturizer for skin and hair, can treat acne, and has “conditioning, healing and antiaging properties.”  This is starting to sound like some panacea bullshit no better than olive oil that companies are exploiting to make a lot of money (which, to be fair, is what companies are supposed to do).  However, argan oil production has had some social and environmental benefits in providing work and an income to the women in the area and preventing deforestation of argan trees (the oil comes from the nuts).  Even if I don’t believe in all of the benefits, it sounds like a solid product.

It is really dark black and feels much softer than most mascaras.  I expected a feathery lash, and it did get a little clumpy and spidery:

IMG_0380

on day I’ll figure out how to not turn or tilt my head when taking pictures

I’ve also been trying to wear lipstick more or, really, reapply it more.  I put it on almost every day, but after my first cup of coffee it has completely transferred from lips to lid.  Today I’m wearing CoverGirl Lipperfection Jumbo Gloss Bomb in Frosted Cherry Twist ($7.99), which looks suspiciously similar to Clinique’s Chubby Sticks which retail for $17.

Time lapse – it’s now 1:30 in the afternoon and I saw myself in the mirror.  Raccoon eyes, but not so bad that they couldn’t be wiped off easily.  The verdict, as with most things, is “fine.”  I won’t throw away the mascara, but I probably won’t buy it.

