Tattoo Chronicles: My First Time

My dad had always told me that when I turned 18 he would take me to get my first tattoo for my birthday present.  I knew since I was around 12 that I wanted that to be a Patriots tattoo.

As a young child, I didn’t watch football at all.  My favorite player was Dan Marino because I thought he was cute and he was in Ace Ventura.  My dad loved the Patriots and my mom hated my dad, so she did everything she could to foster my division rival fandom.  I had a Dan Marino jersey, Miami Dolphins Starter jacket, player trading card, even the Beanie Baby.  I was a card carrying member of the Miami fanbase.  It was a shameful time in my life.  My dad would lock me out of the room when the Patriots were playing the Dolphins because my only goal in rooting for the team was to annoy him.  If I were him, I would have locked me out of the house.

When I was 10 years old, the Patriots made it to the Super Bowl.  They played against the Green Bay Packers.  By this point, my Dan Marino crush had subsided.  I was onto bigger and better things…like Jonathan Taylor Thomas.  And I wanted to support my dad.  So, my adorable 10-year-old self was chanting, “I’d rather be dead than wear cheese on my head.”  And my dad was going fucking crazy.  My bedtime was before the end of the game, but I snuck halfway down the stairs to watch my dad screaming at the tv and rolling around on the ground in true fan agony.  The Patriots lost.

After that game, I decided that being a football fan looked exciting and it was something I wanted to do.  So I asked my dad to teach me about football and, once I understood the rules, I got really into it.  Thus, the Patriots tattoo.

We went to a tattoo parlor that my dad had been to before, but I got a different guy.  I thought it was going to hurt, but I picked my upper thigh where it’s all muscle, so it felt like sharp pen.  That’s all.  Someone writing on you with a sharp pen.  It turned out okay, not great.  Then I picked the scab a lot.  Today, I’ve had it touched up twice and it’s mostly raised scar tissue, beyond repair.  My current guy said he could give it a black outline to clean it up a bit.  I’ll do that next time I want something.  Despite it’s haggard appearance, it’s still my favorite tattoo.

Sorry for the awkward upper thigh photos hahaha

IMG_0405

 

*In this pic I’m wearing Saucony’s Runderpants.  The butt says Get Used to The View and they make me really happy (not that anyone can see it because I wear these underneath my running tights or shorts).  BUT, they’re not quite as comfortable as the Champion for Target running underwear that they no longer sell 😡  I just checked and they finally have them in stock again – woohoo!!

