Christmas Tree Miscommunication

Last year the bf and I were celebrating the first Christmas in our apartment. We decided not to get a tree because we would be traveling over the actual holiday, and had a lot of family events leading up to it. I had the great idea of buying all of the tree trimmings after Christmas when they were all on sale, so that we could put up a tree this year. Setting the scene, this conversation had been going on for months. We’re all excited to get all our ornaments.

I think it was just before we went to NY for the holiday that I was making a list of everything we needed: ornaments, lights, tree skirt, tree topper, tree stand…when the bf stops me. “They come with a stand.” Duh. Wait, what the hell is he talking about??? No, they don’t – what are you talking about. After a few minutes of TOTALLY confusing conversation, we realize that all along he was talking about a fake tree and I was talking about a real tree. Never in my wildest dreams would it cross my mind that he wanted a fake tree.

I get the pros. They’re cleaner – no pine needles to clean up. Financially, they make sense – you spend $100 one year and it lasts you for quite a few years. Real trees costs upwards of $100 per year. They are an expensive disposable decoration.

But it’s just not the same!

How to explain that when faced with so much reasonable logic?!?! I still don’t know. I just persisted. There’s a local flower market near my apartment that sells Christmas trees and partners with a guy who delivers them on a bicycle (you can pay extra for him to wear a santa suit!). So, I bought the stand, found the tree, and got it delivered all on my own…with the bf’s tacit approval.

I think my excitement is winning him over. Plus, he found some sweet lights that have 8 different settings, so there’s that. He even helped decorate it and made construction paper rings for all the windows!!!

IMG_0427

Yeah, it’s pretty lopsided. It was slim pickings for the only tree place in the city, and I didn’t want to spend more than $50 on the tree. How freakin fabulous is that tree topper though? The whole living room is covered in sparkles.

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Tree Miscommunication

Comments are closed.