Second Chances for Mascara

Out of the mascaras I’ve tried so far, there were a handful that didn’t make the cut.  I won’t even use them in the rotation until they’re gone, let alone buy them.  Before I throw them away, a drastic step when they came from a $50 sample pack, I wanted to give them a second chance.  I suffered through half the week with raccoon eyes, all to give them a fair shake.  And to give you some truly horrendous pictures.  Enjoy!

Urban Decay Perversion $22

My original review is HERE and the second time around yielded very similar results.  Notice the chic black eye look on the left.  Yeah, no.  Not happening.  This picture was taken at 12:44PM – that’s 6 hours of wear.  I have no idea when it started to look like I had gone swimming, as I was in meetings all morning.  Imagine getting out of meeting with people to find you look like THIS.  It’s like finding your fly unzipped hours after you went to the bathroom.  Not good.  Needless to say, this mascara is now in the trash.

Urban Decay Perversion

 

Josie Maran Argan Oil Mascara $22

I briefly mentioned the raccoon eyes from this one in my first review, but I thought that the benefits outweighed the melting effects.  It’s really dark, pigmented black.  A softer formula.  Natural!  But, upon wearing it a few more times I moved it to the discard pile.  I liked the idea of this more than the actual product.  This picture was taken at 4pm, so it did last longer than the other two.

wpid-img_20141204_161901_921.jpg

YSL Mascara Volume Effect Faux Baby Doll $30

I thought this one was more of a winner.  Maybe I was just super disoriented from the dentist that day.  I don’t even remember what made me take it out of rotation.  Given the lack of jarring memories, it definitely deserved a second chance.  I didn’t want to hold a grudge.  Turns out, raccoon eyes strike again!  Picture taken at 11:20AM, 5 hours after application.

wpid-img_20141203_112824_063.jpg

God the lighting in the bathroom at work is AWFUL – I won’t do this to you again.

That’s that.  I don’t give third chances.  Unless they’re in next year’s LashStash.

Also – I swear I don’t look like this when I leave the house in the morning!!

 

3 thoughts on “Second Chances for Mascara

  1. Have you ever tried using those mascaras with a primer first? I love Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara but it always falls below my eyes. After priming that was no longer a problem for me!

Comments are closed.