Makeup Monday: Unsuccessful Sephora Trip

I just realized, after I wrote the title, that this post doesn’t really have any makeup in it.  But, since it has to do with Sephora I’ll proceed apace.

About a week and a half ago I had an extra 30 minutes between work and needing to be somewhere to work on a project.  I also got a promotion, so I was feeling a wee bit celebratory.  So, I stopped in Sephora with every intention of of buying something beautiful and ridiculous and unnecessary.  I also had their holiday $15 off a purchase of $50, so I had to spend some money…duh.  After looking at so many gorgeous eyeshadow palettes, I kept convincing myself not to buy them because I already have that color, or I used to have that color and I never needed it, or this is $60 and that’s too expensive.  Whenever I’m just browsing I want everything, but when I actually plan to spend money, I can’t decide on anything to purchase.  I kept looking back and this bright and funky Urban Decay palette, so I think I’m going to get this after Christmas:

Urban Decay - Electric Pressed Pigment PaletteWhat I ended up with was much less fun:

wpid-img_20141204_185303_602.jpg

I’ve been wanting to get an extractor for some time now, as I’m obsessed with this entirely gross and unnecessary process.  It comes with barely any instructions and left me with very red, irritated damaged skin.  Thus far, I’ve found doing it without the tool to be more effective and less damaging.

wpid-img_20141204_184347_111.jpg

I threw in this rose mask to meet the $50 minimum and it was also disappointing.  Not so much the actual product on the face mask, but this Hannibal Lector looking thing that was way too big for my face, got all up in my hair, and kept covering my eyes.  It would have made way more sense to just sell the mask in a bottle that you apply yourself instead of trying to make a one-size-fits-all goalie mask.wpid-img_20141204_184358_796.jpg

The only products I got from this haul that I’m actually pleased with is the Clinique Dramatically Different moisturizer and Sephora’s brush cleaner.  I really needed a better moisturizer for the winter.  My cheeks were starting to feel scaly.  The travel size of this was only $14 and it will probably last me a month or two.

Next time I go to Sephora, I swear I’m buying something fun.  Whether I know how to apply highlighter yellow and orange eyeshadow or not.

3 thoughts on “Makeup Monday: Unsuccessful Sephora Trip

  1. Pingback: Makeup Monday: Sephora Haul | Quitters Never Win

Comments are closed.