Remembering it’s not the end of the world

I had my PT appointment yesterday.  As you might recall, I was having some pain in my tendon these past two weeks, as well as hip pain.  Every time I feel that twinge in my ankle, I panic and negative thoughts spiral.  Why can’t I just run? Am I not meant to run? Should I just stop running? For people who aren’t runners, or who don’t exercise regularly, I understand this sounds insane.  I used to fall into that category.  But now, the thought of never running makes me panic.

I was afraid to go to my PT appointment because I thought that pain meant I had to take more weeks off.  Or it meant that my treatment plan wasn’t working and something else was wrong.  So, I told my therapist (is that the proper word for the PT person?  it sounds weird) with trepidation.  She asked some follow up questions, and said very casually, “Okay, well this week only run for 20-25 minutes – stop before you feel pain.”  Very nonchalant.

10 Inspiring C S Lewis Quotes - C.S. Lewis was one of the most brilliant writers who ever set pen to paper.

Here I was thinking that any pain meant starting over and she was excited that I’m able to run/walk for 20 minutes because, as she accurately pointed out, running back in August meant I was limping for two weeks.  It was a refreshing 180 degree turn from my fatalistic panic.  Just a quick reminder that it’s all about perspective.

21 Suggestions Twentysomethings Never Asked For (via BuzzFeed) ...Have to say I think many of these are great!

Not totally on the topic of the post, but an excellent example of something completely defined by your perspective.

 

4 thoughts on “Remembering it’s not the end of the world

  1. I’m in the same boat, I had a back injury in November and then something else which has stopped me from running all together. It totally sucks and I too panic at the thought of not running but with running it’s all about listening to your body. I’m taking a break now in the hope that next year I’ll be as good as new. I’m so glad you can still run 20-25 minutes though, that’s great 🙂

Comments are closed.