Five Thing Friday – 2014 Reflections

I talked about my 2015 resolutions, but haven’t really reflected on the past year. On my Facebook feed I see so many people saying “Sayonara” and “Good riddance” to 2014, calling the worst year of their lives, etc. I’m generally a snarky, realistic person. I would never call myself peppy or positive, but I can’t imagine that an entire year is the worst. Yes, bad things happen, but shouldn’t we focus on the good ones? I don’t think I’ve ever let something shitty affect my entire year. So here are 5 good things that happened in 2014! Warning: this is very self-centered. I’m allowed to pat myself on the back once in awhile, as we all should!

  1. I didn’t smoke that much.  Last January, I started tracking the number of days that I didn’t smoke, instead of focusing on and feeling bad about the days that I did.  As it turned out, I didn’t smoke for 72% of 2014.  I’m guessing that number was about the same in 2013, but I know it was less than 10% in 2012 and 0% in 2011.  I like thinking about it and tracking it this way, because it gives me a really easy way to set a goal and stick to it.
  2. I lost 10 pounds!  It’s the first time in my life that I tried to lose weight and succeeded.  In June, I weighted 141.8 lbs and was up 2 pants sizes from the year before.  Right now I’m hovering around 132 lbs and down 1 pants size from June.  I have more lbs to go to fit into some jeans I bought a few years ago that used to make my ass look spectacular, but I’m in a much better place than I was 6 months ago.
  3. I renewed a lease for the first time!  I went through a few years of moving every 6-12 months for various reasons (breakups, sketchy roommates, rent raises).  It became my new norm.  My family made fun of me every time I sent out ANOTHER change of address email.  September 1, 2014 marks one year in my apartment and I’ve got at least one more year to go.  It has it’s issues (mainly spiders, and we might not be able to get a dog – we’ve been too afraid to ask).  We’ve taken the time to decorate and hang things on the walls and whatnot, and it really, truly feels like home.
  4. I am finished with 75% of my degree.  Seriously, one semester left!!!  Then I’m a fucking Master!  I can’t say that the last year has been the hardest.  That title probably goes to the summer I taught myself 3 prerequisite classes in 2 months.  Oh no big deal, just an accelerated program of calculus and linear algebra.  However, this last semester was one of the most time consuming.  Getting used to online classes and completing a huge group project.  School is the main stressor on my relationship.  Not only am I never around to spend time with the bf, I also struggle to keep up my half of the bargain in the apartment.  So, completing 2 semesters and maintaining most of my sanity while doing it is something to celebrate.
  5. Speaking of the bf, I am in the happiest, healthiest relationship of my life.  He’s more than just my boyfriend.  He’s my partner and he supports me through all of this.  He’s a huge factor in me succeeding at all of the above.  Not to say that I couldn’t do something without him (because I’m just not that kind of girl), but everything is made easier by having him by my side.  We make each other incredibly happy and I can’t wait for another year!
2 thoughts on “Five Thing Friday – 2014 Reflections

Comments are closed.