Makeup Monday – Travel Tips

Posting will be on the light side this week. I’m flying to TX to visit my mom on the first flight out Wednesday morning and getting back on the last flight in Sunday night, because she completely disregards anything in anyone’s life that does not relate directly to her, like work schedules and school semesters. I may end up bringing my laptop with me, in which case I’ll probably write a ton to avoid any interpersonal connection with the demon who makes me call her mom (don’t question my feelings on this, birthing a child does not make you a good person or worthy of love – these are thoughts for my therapist, though, not my blog). If I end up opting not carrying my 17″ million pound laptop, I’ll try to schedule a few. Otherwise, you’re on your own.

Since I’m already making packing lists for the upcoming trip, I figured I’d share some lessons learned from disasters past when it comes to packing makeup and toiletries.

  • I find that they best way to pack makeup and toiletries is to pack it as you’re getting ready that morning.  If you used to to get ready that day, then you’ll most likely need it the next day.  By the time my face and hair are ready, I’ve got a bunch of things scattered about the bathroom floor, ready to be thrown in a bag without thinking.
  • But don’t do it without thinking.  Take care to put leaky things in plastic baggies.  I have my homemade makeup remover in a $1 travel bottle.  The oil leaks ALL OVER.  Even putting in a plastic bag is still annoying because the whole bottle and bag get covered in oil.  Instances like this are where it pays off to have separate travel products.  For makeup remover, I use Almay makeup remover pads.  The container is sealed, the pads are easy to use and dispose of.  It eliminates the necessity of bringing cotton balls and a leaky, oil solution.  Voila!
  • Pertaining to the above, do NOT pack baby oil under any circumstances.  No matter how secure and sealed you think it is, it WILL find a way to get all over your whole suitcase.  That shit does not come out.  I threw out 4 or 5 whole outfits.
  • For actual makeup, always pack your base layer and any and all cover-up.  Planes, trains, elevation, and weather all do a number on the skin.  I’ve made the mistake of packing the minimal amount of face makeup (foundation & eyebrow stuff) and found myself desperately in need of cover up and powder.  Your skin and the overall appearance of your face are more important than the blue eyeshadow.  Here is not the place to save space.
  • For make up, bring one or two palettes with a few different shades and a black or brown eyeliner.  Pack one blush or bronzer.  Pack one lipstick, one clear gloss, and one tinted gloss.  That’s it!
  • For my hair, I never pack a hairdryer.  Too bulky and heavy.  I can just let my hair air dry.  I pack a straightener, elastics and a brush.  I forgo my usual hair oil (see points 2 and 3 above).  Granted, these restrictions only hold for vacations and visiting people.  If I’m traveling to a wedding, or some other big event, I pack less clothes to accommodate all the beauty crap.

Of course, this is only if you need to or are trying to save space.  If you have someone else to carry your bags and don’t give a shit about how much crap you’ve just packed into your large suitcase for a long weekend, by all means, go bananas.  Pack everything.

