I can run for 30 minutes, so 3 hours is doable, right?

Who needs succinct subject lines?  Obviously not me.

I signed up for the half marathon. Peer pressure and a competitive nature can force you to do a LOT of things. Not that I’ll be competing. My only goal is to finish. If I can finish anywhere close to 10 minute/mile pace, that will be quite the accomplishment.  And now for my internal freak out…

  • Will I have to eat goos?
  • I don’t even know how to spell it!
  • Of course I’ll have to eat goos.
  • I’m not gonna like them.
  • Are they expensive?
  • Where will I carry them?
  • Where will I carry water?
  • I’ve never really ran long enough to need to carry water.
  • I need new equipment…to carry water and goos.
  • Is there any alternative to goos?
  • They really sound disgusting.
  • I’m not gonna throw up from running 13 miles, I’m gonna throw up from goos.
  • I need new shoes, lighter shoes.
  • But my plantar fasciitis will come back.
  • And my tendinitis.
  • Training is definitely going to make all of my injuries come back.
  • Then I won’t be able to run.
  • Then I will have failed myself.
  • Calm the fuck down.  The physical therapist said this was feasible.
  • But I still need new shoes – gotta rotate pairs…I think I read somewhere that reduces injuries.
  • I just bought shoes and I hate them and they’re so expensive and now I need to buy more?? UGH.
  • My BF said he’d be at the finish line with a space blanket.
  • WTF are space blankets?  Why?  Why are you cold?  The race is in July – it won’t be cold.
  • OMG the race is in fucking July.
  • I like running in the winter, not in JULY.
  • I’m going to hyperventilate and be sweaty and die.
  • I’m going to get a yeast infection from being hot and sweaty for 3 hours.
  • That was probably TMI.
  • Who cares.  I write a blog.  The whole idea of it is TMI.
  • Maybe my doctor can pre-prescribe me meds.
  • That sounds like a lot of work.
  • What if I don’t finish?
  • Of course I’ll finish.  I can walk 13.1 miles.  Duh!
  • Should I set a goal?
  • Finish the race without dying?
  • How do I pace myself?
  • Can I listen to music?
  • Do I run with people?
  • I’ve never run with people.  Do you talk to each other?
  • My friends are faster than me.  Will they slow down just to stay with me?
  • Will I hold them back?
  • Will they leave me alone?
  • Then can I listen to music?
  • I don’t have a 3 hour running playlist.
  • I’m going to need to download more music.
  • Do I carry my phone with me?
  • Or do the race people have GPS chip – things to track you?
  • Does it matter?
  • Will I need to carry extra socks?
  • Where would I carry them?
  • Do I carry my ID on me in case I die?
  • I might die.
  • HOLY SHIT I SIGNED UP FOR A HALF MARATHON

That is, unfiltered, what’s going through my head.  I know that I will google and find the answers to the relevant questions on this list.  I didn’t write them down to ask you all for answers, I just needed to get them out of my head.

I signed up for a fucking half marathon!!!! Woooo!

P.S. I finished PT yesterday, and she assures me that this is doable, by the way.

