I can run for 30 minutes, so 3 hours is doable, right?

Who needs succinct subject lines?  Obviously not me.

I signed up for the half marathon. Peer pressure and a competitive nature can force you to do a LOT of things. Not that I’ll be competing. My only goal is to finish. If I can finish anywhere close to 10 minute/mile pace, that will be quite the accomplishment.  And now for my internal freak out…

  • Will I have to eat goos?
  • I don’t even know how to spell it!
  • Of course I’ll have to eat goos.
  • I’m not gonna like them.
  • Are they expensive?
  • Where will I carry them?
  • Where will I carry water?
  • I’ve never really ran long enough to need to carry water.
  • I need new equipment…to carry water and goos.
  • Is there any alternative to goos?
  • They really sound disgusting.
  • I’m not gonna throw up from running 13 miles, I’m gonna throw up from goos.
  • I need new shoes, lighter shoes.
  • But my plantar fasciitis will come back.
  • And my tendinitis.
  • Training is definitely going to make all of my injuries come back.
  • Then I won’t be able to run.
  • Then I will have failed myself.
  • Calm the fuck down.  The physical therapist said this was feasible.
  • But I still need new shoes – gotta rotate pairs…I think I read somewhere that reduces injuries.
  • I just bought shoes and I hate them and they’re so expensive and now I need to buy more?? UGH.
  • My BF said he’d be at the finish line with a space blanket.
  • WTF are space blankets?  Why?  Why are you cold?  The race is in July – it won’t be cold.
  • OMG the race is in fucking July.
  • I like running in the winter, not in JULY.
  • I’m going to hyperventilate and be sweaty and die.
  • I’m going to get a yeast infection from being hot and sweaty for 3 hours.
  • That was probably TMI.
  • Who cares.  I write a blog.  The whole idea of it is TMI.
  • Maybe my doctor can pre-prescribe me meds.
  • That sounds like a lot of work.
  • What if I don’t finish?
  • Of course I’ll finish.  I can walk 13.1 miles.  Duh!
  • Should I set a goal?
  • Finish the race without dying?
  • How do I pace myself?
  • Can I listen to music?
  • Do I run with people?
  • I’ve never run with people.  Do you talk to each other?
  • My friends are faster than me.  Will they slow down just to stay with me?
  • Will I hold them back?
  • Will they leave me alone?
  • Then can I listen to music?
  • I don’t have a 3 hour running playlist.
  • I’m going to need to download more music.
  • Do I carry my phone with me?
  • Or do the race people have GPS chip – things to track you?
  • Does it matter?
  • Will I need to carry extra socks?
  • Where would I carry them?
  • Do I carry my ID on me in case I die?
  • I might die.
  • HOLY SHIT I SIGNED UP FOR A HALF MARATHON

That is, unfiltered, what’s going through my head.  I know that I will google and find the answers to the relevant questions on this list.  I didn’t write them down to ask you all for answers, I just needed to get them out of my head.

I signed up for a fucking half marathon!!!! Woooo!

P.S. I finished PT yesterday, and she assures me that this is doable, by the way.

12 thoughts on “I can run for 30 minutes, so 3 hours is doable, right?

  1. Pingback: Pacing Myself | Quitters Never Win

  2. Yay, how exciting!! You’ve signed up now and that’s probably the biggest step! This is so great, I’m still waiting till I’m feeling better to sign up for my first half! You’ll have lots of time to train before so don’t stress yourself out! Plus you’ll figure out what fuel you’ll need during longer training runs! I’m super excited for you 🙂

  3. This made me laugh out loud because it was so real. Glad there’s a blogger out there that seems to have the same amount of voice literally running in their mind too

  4. Lol! I love how you seem to be more concerned about the “goo” than anything else haha. You will be fine! You can do it! Stop thinking so much. I do the same thing though. 😳

Comments are closed.