Makeup Monday – Sephora Outrageous Curl & Gel Manicures

I’ve been itching to try a new mascara even though I have FOUR in rotation right now, so I went back to my LashStash box to review the next one = Sephora Outrageous Curl ($15).  This is affordable and I’ve used Sephora mascaras I’ve liked before.  This particular one has a very weird brush.  It’s one of the rubber brushes, but the spiky bristles are more like little nubs, so they don’t really separate, and even tend to clump.

IMG_0553

 

It’s not lengthening or even really volumizing (unless you could clumping as volumizing), but it does seem to hold the curl and, since I have long lashes, it looks pretty nice.

In other news, I got a gel manicure kit for Christmas.  I’ve tried it twice and I do not think I’ll be making it a regular thing.  You have to be able to put on nail polish perfectly, including the clear base coat.  Once it gets on your skin and cures, it’s stuck there and it looks terrible.  The polish also isn’t as viscous as regular nail polish, so it spreads and pools while you’re  doing your other nails.  This could be avoided by “curing” one nail at a time under the LED lights, but that ups your risk of cancer (what doesn’t these days?) and would take forever.  It also left my nails in a terrible state when I took off the polish AND new colors are at least $2 more expensive than regular polish.  I’m over it.

IMG_0534

IMG_0549

It’s bad. It’s really bad.

 

