2 Weird Face Cleansers and a Mask

IMG_0544

Three more samples from the REFRESHER freebies!

NUDE Skincare – Detox Brightening Fizzy Powder Wash ($42)

I’ve never heard of a powder cleanser.  This is described as an “effervescent powder wash” for a “glowing complexion.”  It has Vitamin C, enzymes, rose hip, vanilla seeds, acai berry, Inca gold, and coconut oil.  That’s a lot of stuff.  It sounds like a bunch of bunk.  Inca gold?  Seriously?  Wouldn’t that be in a museum?!?!  Maybe I should research Inca Gold…  Also, I do NOT understand how all that cool stuff is in this powder and it smells like dirt.  Or pottery clay.  It’s not good.  However, it did make my skin feel clean, fresh and renewed.  So there’s that.

It was weird to use a powder and a little messy.  You put the powder in your hand, add water to “activate,” and rub on your face.  At that point, it feels like a dry exfoliator, but you have no idea how much powder to use or how much water and I feel like you’d end up using it pretty quickly.

Ole Henriksen – Pure Truth Melting Cleanser ($34)

This “gelee” also has Vitamin C, along with Rose Hip Oil and Virgin Cherry Oil (is there any other kind of cherry?). Another new one for me – you apply it dry.  I’ve never used an oil cleanser before (I hear they’re all the rage) and it was….weird.  I like my face to feel clean after I wash it, not oily.  Since I was applying it dry, it took a lot of product to cover my whole face.  It also promises to wash away “long-lasting, waterproof make up.”  I was not wearing waterproof mascara and this is what I looked like post-shower.  Soap removes more mascara than this.

IMG_0559

Bliss – Multi-‘face’-eted All-in-one Anti-Aging Clay Mask ($50)

That’s a mouthful.  Those words cost a lot, apparently.  This is the first mask I’m trying from the set.  It has 10% glycolic acid, quartz and jojoba.  Quartz, like Inca Gold, sounds very strange to me and like a waste of money.  This promises to moisturize and brighten and rewind the clock.  I don’t know that my face shows too many signs of the clock, but we’ll give it a go.

This turned out to be my favorite sample thus far.  It’s very gritty, with a fine grain texture, like the lowest level of sandpaper.  It dries super quick.  Upon completion, it brought so much to the surface that I was extracting for half an hour.  My only complaint is that it was insanely hard to get off.  I have an entire hand towel covered in gray clay because my hands and water just weren’t cutting it, so I would suggest using pre-shower.

 

P.S. Workout Wednesday post will be late today — I’m going to the gym after work.  Even when class is cancelled due to the weather, the gym stays open!

 

4 thoughts on “2 Weird Face Cleansers and a Mask

  1. Pingback: Soap & Glory Face Wash. Philosophy Miracle Cream. | Quitters Never Win

  2. The Detox Brightening Fizzy Powder Wash looks interesting. I see more companies coming out with products like these right now. I might pick up a sample next time I’m at Sephora even though the smells is weird. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.