Soap & Glory Face Wash. Philosophy Miracle Cream.

IMG_0561Soap & Glory – Face Soap and Clarity ($25)

This Vitamin C facial wash includes “natural superfruit™ yuzu and ultra-soft scrub-beads, this high-tech foaming wash is a multitasking miracle.”  I don’t think I’ve ever read product descriptions so closely before reviewing all these samples.  They all sound like so much bullshit.  You really need to trademark superfruit??  What the fuck is yuzu?!?  It’s either the next-generation digital communication platform…or a citrus fruit.  I don’t want the hipster of face wash.  I want something unpretentious.

Anyway, I chose this one because the packaging seemed unpretentious.  After my experience with powder wash and oil/gelee wash last week, I just wanted a plain old face wash.  One in a familiar consistency.  That foamed.  And washed off.  This one [mostly] did the job.  It is sort of gel consistency, but you still wet it before putting on.  It has a slightly strange smell, like bathroom cleaner…Scrubbing Bubbles, maybe.  Speaking of scrubbing, the scrub beads are pointless.  They’re so distributed that I think there were two on my face, which scrubbed maybe one square inch.  That aside, my face felt clean and fresh after and I think I’ll get a lot of uses out of this sample size.

philosophy – Miracle Worker Overnight ($68)

Holy mother, that’s expensive.  I suppose if it really is “age resetting” and the “rare marine algae extract” really does get rid of “age accelerating proteins.”  I suppose.  I don’t know how to tell if it does any of that.  Especially from a sample size.  Can I get my number of age accelerating proteins tested?  Aha, the research results.  50 participants.  An improvement in fine lines in 4 – 8 weeks, depending on the lines.

Some of the reviews on Sephora are terrible – burning, no difference in lines, terrible smell.  I can say that I didn’t experience that.  I thought it was a nice overnight cream.  It has a faint citrus smell, more like grapefruit than orange.  It was heavy, but still easily spread over my face, so I didn’t have to use a lot (the importance of this aspect is directly correlated to the price!).  My face felt a little oily when I woke up, which I wasn’t in love with.  So this was definitely too heavy for the day and I like to consolidate products. I did like it and maybe I’ll try it again when I’m in severe need of “age resetting,” but for now I’ll stick with an all purpose moisturizer.  (Maybe I just don’t respond well [mentally] to bells and whistles?)

2 thoughts on “Soap & Glory Face Wash. Philosophy Miracle Cream.

  1. My mama loves the Philosophy stuff. I tend to just buy random locally made soap bars at the market and call it good. I did just experience my first LUSH shampoo bar, and I love it.

Comments are closed.