Drastic Measures

…for me at least.

While I’m taking this month off from weighing myself daily, I haven’t taken the month off from seeing. And what I see is me gaining weight. What I see more, is me eating unhealthy things.

What’s interesting is, I’ve been much better than usual on what I’ve been eating. Much less processed foods, more homemade meals, more fresh ingredients, more vegetables, more protein. That’s all well and good. I think all that goodness has tricked me into not feeling bad about eating muffins and ice cream and nutella and chocolate bars. That’s not good.

I’ve thought about cutting sugar from my diet and then recoiled in disgust about having to figure out the difference between added sugar and natural sugar and reading labels and determining what sugar I was cutting out vs. what was okay. White bread? Fruit? Yogurt? Fruit and yogurt at least are healthy foods (at least in comparison to the rest of the stuff I eat). Luna Bars have a lot of sugar, but those are a healthy breakfast to me.

So,* I’m not cutting out sugar.  But, I am going to cut out desserts and baked goods for one week 2 weeks.  This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Donuts – sorry, USD, I’ll be back in a few 😦

    IMG_3039.JPG

    Union Square Donuts – unionsquaredonuts.com

  • Muffins
  • Candy bars
  • Ice cream
  • Nutella or frosting on ANYTHING
  • Cookies
  • Cake
  • Cheesecake
  • Pie
  • Croissants
  • Donuts – it requires being listed twice — I had 3 donuts last week
  • Ice cream – also requires being listed twice — I had 2 pints of Ben & Jerry’s last week.  I finally found the cookie butter one in a store!  But it wasn’t as good as just eating cookie butter out of the jar, which reminds me…
  • Cookie Butter

    I just made the mistake of going to B&J’s website and seeing all their new flavors. Goddamit.

Because I’m not a masochist, this challenge won’t start until after Valentine’s Day.  I want delicious desserts and chocolate and cookies.  This challenge starts on Sunday, February 15 and goes until Sunday, March 1.

You better believe I’ll be in line at Dunkin Donuts the morning of the 2nd for a Boston Cream and a Coconut Flake donut.  Yummmm.

I need this detox so badly.  Expect cranky, angry posts for 2 weeks.  If I last that long.  I don’t think I’ve ever tried anything so hard.

*Writer’s tangent: I need to stop starting sentences and paragraphs with “So,” It’s an annoying tic like ‘like’ and I hate reading it. I’m sorry. I’ll try to stop.

3 thoughts on “Drastic Measures

  1. Pingback: 2 Weeks [Almost] Dessert Free | Quitters Never Win

  2. Great post, i recently saw a trailer a documentary on sugar addiction that will be coming out soon that i think you’d be interested in taking a look at. It’s called “Fed Up” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71j8TPwkTQE

    I’ve also been part of a group that strives to live and eat as healthy as possible, staying away from GMO’s and genetically modified food, what i’ve come to understand is that our food literally forms a chemical addiction that we become used to. It’s all very interesting. I used to have the biggest sweet tooth, ever since i started eating more balanced food to try and reach my health and fitness goals that sweet tooth has calmed down significantly! would love to hear your story though.

Comments are closed.