2 Weeks [Almost] Dessert Free

I challenged myself to 2 weeks with no desserts or baked goods. It was easier than I thought, but less effective, in the sense that I didn’t actually eat any healthier. I think I ate worse. Because salty snacks like Terra Root Chips and Nut Thins were allowed, I gorged myself on those. Are they healthier than a red velvet muffin? Probably. In the quantities I ate? I’d bet the muffin wins.

I found a lot of “healthy” sweet food that I used as substitutes, which also made it easy. Some of my favorites:

  • Skinny Girl Banana Oatmeal Dark Chocolate bars
  • Luna bars – Chocolate Coconut and Honey Peanut Pretzel
  • Peanut Butter – Skippy Reduced Fat creamy is my favorite
  • Flavor shots in my coffee (I only did this once!)
  • Chocolate and caramel rice cakes
  • Quaker Real Medleys Oatmeal – Apple Walnut and Maple Pecan –These are delicious!
  • Quaker Weight Control Oatmeal (because the Real Medleys have a lot of calories) – Banana Bread, Maple Brown Sugar, Cinnamon

I also cheated once or twice.  I avoided sweets for breakfast for almost the whole two weeks.  Then, last Friday, my coworker brought in donuts.  Fucking donuts.  They really are my vice.  After a week of feeling crappy about my ankle and getting my period, I caved for half a glazed donut and half a chocolate covered one with sprinkles.  It was so worth it.  The 2nd donut I ate (in the form of cutting off little bites ever time I passed it) was not worth it.

I also had cream puffs at the 60th birthday party.  What?  It would have been rude not to!

Then I had Banana Croissant French Toast at breakfast on Sunday (which was technically the end of my challenge).  Then I had a pistachio muffin this morning (they only have them in March!  because they’re green…for St. Patrick’s Day…get it?  so I have to have them).

All in all, this just taught me I need to focus on eating healthy things, as opposed to focus on not eating unhealthy things…if that makes sense?  I need to shift my view, because no matter what I cut out of my diet, I’m going to find something terrible (and delicious) to replace it.  I need to focus on finding awesome, good for me, delicious things to eat.

That seems obvious and I should have done that in the first place, but it is much easier to focus on one thing at a time.  I find it much more difficult to just ‘eat healthy’ all the goddamn time.

Now I want more donuts!

