Marshmallow Filled Banana Cupcakes

This is what I made last night for my girls night sleep over tonight. The recipe comes from Taste of Home magazine:

IMG_0653

hopefully you can read this

Before I start baking, I like to do a couple things:

  • Set out the equipment I need – mixer and muffin tins with muffin liners.

    IMG_0656

    I probably shouldn’t put these right on the stove, as they get hot while preheating, but oh well.

  • Lay down a paper towel to do all my measuring on.  This saves you from having to really clean the counters afterward.
  • Hang a plastic grocery bag near my work station for immediate trash – egg shells, wrappers, banana peels, etc.  I used to bring the trash can over to me, but leaving it open and smelling trash while I’m baking is not pleasant.

    IMG_0655

    Notice the paper towel and the bag. Do not notice the dirty ass toaster. The BF reuses aluminum foil I guess?

  • Set out all the ingredients on the kitchen table behind me.  This way they are all in reach and I don’t have to look for anything mid-recipe, but they aren’t cluttering my counter workspace.
    • Note on ingredients: In the middle of this picture you’ll notice a box of buttermilk.  I only needed 1/4 C. buttermilk, and it’s only sold in a quart.  Blech.  Then I saw this in the baking aisle.  It has 4 packets of dried buttermilk.  Each makes 1 C. when mixed with water.  So, I only wasted 3/4 C. instead of most of a quart, and I have 3 more cups at my convenience for the next time!  Ingenious.

IMG_0658

Then I just followed the recipe.  In ended up making 22 muffins instead of 18, which was fine but I had prepare another pan.  I have a cheesecake recipe like that, that made a whole second cheesecake.  The first time I made it the second one had no crust or no topping because the topping in the recipe was only enough for one.  Weird.  Moving on.

Once I took out the cupcakes I got to core them with my cute cupcake puncher that the BF got me awhile back.  You can totally do this with a knife or grapefruit spoon, but since I had the little contraption, I used it.

IMG_0659

I tried not to photograph the wine glass, but I was too lazy to move it and we all know wine is essential to baking.

Following instructions, I made the filling.  I have no good tips for dealing with Fluff.  It’s a bitch to measure and deal with.  My only tip from this part of the process is soften the butter.  I had left it out for hours, but it wasn’t soft enough.  So, I threw it in the microwave, wrapper and all, for 8 seconds.  That was perfect.

Then I casually filled the cores and frosted them with a spoon.  I say casually because my frosted is plopped and swirled on top.  Nothing fancy here.

IMG_0660

Nothing fancy except for the badass cupcake holder. It has a cover with a handle. It’s awesome. Also a BF gift. Perhaps he’s just trying to get me to bake more cupcakes. haha

In the end, they’re really yummy, but they taste like banana muffins.  In retrospect I would have just made a recipe for banana muffins, which would be healthier, and then fill them with the same marshmallow filling.

 

One thought on “Marshmallow Filled Banana Cupcakes

Comments are closed.