Blue Apron Review – Part 1 of 3: Salmon, Fennel, & Farro

My friend gifted me a free Blue Apron delivery.  I’d tried Plated in the past, also a free referral.  One delivery = 3 meals for 2 people = total cost of $60.  The catch is you don’t get to pick the meals, so I had no idea what was coming until Monday morning when they told me.  Given the surprise factor, we made out pretty good.

First up is Roasted Salmon, Fennel and Castelvetrano Olives with Cara Orange, Farro, & Salsa Verde.  The prep work was A LOT.  Especially because it told you to do it all at once.  Well, I don’t have 9 different small bowls to put stuff in like I’m on a fucking cooking show, so I essentially had to follow along backwards.  This way I was able to group things on paper plates.

First bad thing was some bad fennel. I don’t really know what bad fennel looks like, but part of this was brown and mushy. I cut that part away.

IMG_0680

Then the recipe card calls for 2 teaspoons of orange zest. I barely got 1 t.

After much chopping and prepping, I cooked the farro and roasted the fennel and salmon.  Then you mix in the Cara Cara orange and zest into the farro.  I haven’t eaten an orange in 20 years (that statement makes me feel old).  I hate the way the little fibers break apart when I bit into them.  Same goes for shrimp.  Anyway, I had no idea how much I was going to hate it.  Turns out, I didn’t hate it.  The texture is still very unpleasant, but the flavor was phenomenal.

IMG_0681

Cara Cara Orange Farro

 

IMG_0682

Here’s the delicious (but very small portioned) salmon.

IMG_0683

Topping (they called it salsa verde, which it is not – more of a parsley pesto), fennel pollen, and fennel garnish

The topping was the holy grail: sliced almonds, garlic, parsley, capers, and olive oil.  It was tangy, salty, crunchy, savory… I want to make a giant batch and put it on EVERYthing I eat.  I did garnish with the fennel pollen as instructed.  Couldn’t tell if it made a difference.

IMG_0686

The Complete Dish

Overall, the recipe was really good.  It was different.  There were A LOT of flavors, but they all worked well together.  The BF thought it was basically the best thing I ever made (besides funfetti ice cream cake).

Portion-wise, it wasn’t enough.  Yes, the meal was just enough, but no leftovers.  There’s not technically supposed to be leftovers, but with Plated, we had a ton of leftover sides, so I at least got a lunch out of it, too.  The ingredients didn’t seem as fresh as Plated, either.  My coworker used Blue Apron once and her whole basket was rotting, so that doesn’t bode well.

You can sign up on their website to get a weekly newsletter that includes recipes.  Given how surprisingly good this was, I would at least recommend that.

One meal down, two more to go!

One thought on “Blue Apron Review – Part 1 of 3: Salmon, Fennel, & Farro

  1. Pingback: Blue Apron Review – Parts 2 and 3 | Quitters Never Win

Comments are closed.