Makeup Monday – Tarte Tinted Moisturizer

Two weeks ago I discussed my quest for a new foundation.  Last week I mentioned that I had to return something to Sephora.  This all brings me to telling you about how I bought, and got stuck with, a $38 tinted moisturizer instead of a full coverage matte foundation.

I went to Sephora to test out the Clinique foundation in better colors.  None of their lighter colors worked on me, which is probably how I ended up with too dark ones in the first place.  They were light enough, but not the right hue.  So, I tried some other things that were recommended by the Color IQ of my NARS Siberia because they didn’t have the original NARS that I wanted.  I was deciding between Tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation in Ivory and Make Up Forever Mat Velvet in Warm Ivory.  I ended up going with Tarte on essentially a coin flip.

I didn’t realize until I got home that I had purchased Tarte Amazonian Clay Tinted Moisturizer ($36).  It has very little coverage.  Since I had tested in the store, I was convinced that I tested the right product, but the wrong box was behind it.  When I went back to say as much and hopefully exchange it, I saw that I had actually tested the tinted moisturizer.  Since I was focused on finding the right color, I don’t think I paid attention to coverage.  I also already had make up on that day, so it was probably hard to tell.  Since I realized this was all my fault, I didn’t bother trying to exchange it (even though they probably would have).  I suppose I can use a good tinted moisturizer?  I am going to purchase the Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet soon because I need to cover up this zit on my chin.  It’s not cute.

IMG_0704

The tinted moisturizer is applied on the left side of my face, but not the right. So you can see the lack of coverage, since you can’t really see a difference in my complexion.

 

 

One thought on “Makeup Monday – Tarte Tinted Moisturizer

Comments are closed.