March Fitness Roundup

That’s right.  You get a double dose of fitness today.

Recall from February, my March goals were:

  • Physical therapy exercise to rehab ankle
  • Walk more; run if possible
  • Eat healthy foods
  • 1150-1300 calories day

Well, physical therapy didn’t start until March 31st, so I didn’t do that, or walk more.  I rested my sprained ankle and continued to do non-weight bearing exercise.  I actually exercised more days than in past months.  The intensity may not have been there, but the willpower and effort just to make time to exercise (especially when I was so limited to what I could do) was there, and that’s great!

As for eating, it’s been a bit of a mixed bag.  For dinners, the BF and I have been cooking more whole foods and eating out less.  However, school’s picked up a bit and I stopped my dessert fast, so I’ve been indulging in a lot of muffins and cupcakes; and when we have gone out to eat, I have not been shy about drinks, extra appetizers, or dessert.  I definitely did not meet my calorie goals, but I did maintain my weight, which is still a positive.

MARCH

  • 0 minutes cardio [Feb=216, Jan=307]
  • 16 At Home Workouts and 0 runs [Feb= 7, 7]
  • Total Distance = 0 miles [Feb=16.79 miles]
  • Fitbit — Average Daily Steps: 5,504 [Feb= 8,295]
    march
  • Weight:
    • March 3 = 131.4 lbs
    • April 1 = 131.8 lbs

APRIL

  1. Physical Therapy
    This is my first priority (hence it is numbered 1).  PT is a lot of time and work.  It’s not hard, just as reading a book isn’t hard (unless you dropped out of 1st grade), but the commitment to doing it everyday is trying.  It’s how I’m going to get to run again, so it is my priority.
  2. Food Tracking
    Last month my goal was to eat healthy and stay below 1300 calories per day.  I thought I was being generous, since my actual weight loss goal calls for 1200.  BUT, not only did I not stay below 1300 calories; I didn’t even count how many calories I was eating.  So, I’m going back to basics and baby steps.  My goal is to track my food.  Every day.  Even weekends.  Even beer.  Even when I’m hungover and order pizza, jalapeno poppers, and poutine.  Yes, even then.

This month is about creating habits.  Doing something every day for 30 days creates a habit.  These two habits will set me up to succeed in my running goals and weight loss goals over the course of the summer.  We’re at step ZERO here.

 

 

