Blue Apron Review – Parts 2 and 3

This is really just part 3. I totally forgot to take pictures of the 2nd meal. It was Friday night. I was hungry. What can I say?

What It's Like To Be Hangry

MEAL 2: Short Rib Burgers on Pretzel Buns with Hoppy Cheddar Sauce and Sweet Potato Rounds

This was really, really, really good.  And it was easier than Meal 1.  The sweet potato rounds were super quick and easy.  Cut potatoes, toss with oil, bake.  The burger was easy to mix and make.  The sauce was the only part that required an ounce of cooking competence.  It had hops flowers in it!  My kitchen smelled like a brewery, which made me delightfully happy, but might not be for everyone.  I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to tell that the burger was ground short ribs instead of just regular ground beef, but I totally could tell.  It was one high brow burger.  Probably not worth the price in real life, but these deliveries were free.

MEAL 3: Spicy Thai Chicken Noodle Soup

Hey – I remembered to take pictures for this one!  You should give me a gold star because I was hella hungover and still remembered.  I also remember when saying ‘hella’ was cool.  It’s not anymore.  Moving on.

IMG_0696

It says red curry, but it was actually green curry.

This recipe finally didn’t use a million pots and pans.  The other two resulted in some significant dish duty for the significant other.  For this one, you cooked some nasty looking chopped chicken in a big pot.  Took it out and cooked the mushrooms and peppers in the pot.  Then added water, lime, garlic, ginger, worcestershire, and chicken demi-glaze (I am seriously afraid to look up what the hell demi-glaze is – it was GROSS looking) and simmered for awhile.  You also added the green curry paste before the simmering.  Now, I can barely eat mild salsa, but the BF likes spicy things.  It said to add ‘to taste’ and it didn’t smell too spicy, so I put in about 3/4 of what was provided, assuming that all of it would result in something very spicy…

IMG_0694

Doesn’t look that appetizing, but it smelled AMAZING.

…boy was I wrong.  We could both barely eat the soup.  So much so that we were sipping milk in between each bite.  It was torture – both because it was burning my whole face off and because it was delicious, but I couldn’t bare to eat it.

IMG_0700

Here it is, lookin all beautiful and unattainable.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blue Apron Review – Parts 2 and 3

Comments are closed.