Makeup Monday – Smoky Extravagant Mascara

Third to last in the Lash Stash box – Make Up For Ever Smoky Extravagant Mascara ($24).  I thought remembered liking this more the last time I reviewed it in 2011, but then I reread the post and the title says it all: 4 More – Still Not Impressed.  It’s not bad, it’s just not great.

Smoky Extravagant Mascara is a heavy, thick formula.  On one hand, it weighs down your lashes and flattens out the curl.  On the other hand, the thick formula gives you lots of volume and a deep black color.  I really don’t like the applicator; it’s roughly the size of my whole eye.  I can only use the skinny pointy end of it to apply, so I’m missing out on all the mascara at the fat, bulbous end.  The mascara isn’t as steadfast as I would like.  It does run a little bit.  More worrisome is that when it does run, it’s really hard to wipe off.

Mascara on the left. None on the right.

I was having a particularly good hair day, so I wanted to give you a full picture. My closet makes for a very distracting background.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Makeup Monday – Smoky Extravagant Mascara

  1. I’m wearing the mascara that’s supposedly better than sex. It’s not. But I have a really hard time with mascara. I already have long lashes, but I find them thin. So I want to make them plump. Also, I don’t curl. So hopefully something that doesn’t totally flatten them out. You’d think this would be doable.

Comments are closed.