5 Miles + A Playlist

I ran 5 miles today. 5.4 to be exact. It was awesome and everything hurts. Especially the peroneal tendon on the sprained ankle foot. Sprained ankle foot? Does that make sense? No, it does not. Don’t care. I ran 5 miles today!

Before I left, I warmed up a smidge. Relaced my neon Asics to relieve pressure on the arch. Then I decided to make an hour long playlist. However, the second I stepped out the door I realized I didn’t load it correctly onto my mp3 player (a cheap Sansa SanDisk – it works fine when I do it right).  The songs didn’t load in a playlist, so I just had to listen to “Recently Added” and they were all out of order.  Still good, though.  More on that later.

So, I went out, tried to go slow.  The first 2 miles actually felt good.  I only stopped for red lights and to cross the street.  That’s the first time I can say that 2 miles felt good!  I faded quickly from there.  At about halfway I got to meet up with the local bike path, which is awesome and flat and pretty.  For the first time on it, I noticed that they don’t have water fountains.  I probably could have used one.  There’s a newly extended portion of the bike path that I went down.  However, I learned that it has no outlet and I had to double back.  That’s how I ended up adding almost half a mile to the run.  I was contemplating jumping the fence and trespassing through someone’s yard to meet up with the road, just so I didn’t have to add the mileage.  I was quite done at this point.  But, I made it back.

I paid attention to keeping my hips level, and my IT band didn’t bother me at all, so that was awesome.  My feet and ankles felt fine when I got back, but I threw some icepacks on them because I knew I was a little swollen.  Then I took off my running shoes and standing for the first time without them…well, I almost fell over.  My foot is not happy with me at all.  I’ve been icing it all day.  It’s hurting underneath the ankle bone along the outer bottom of my foot.  The same place it hurt when I sprained my ankle.  However, I know the pain is tendinitis cause by the long run, whereas last time it was tendinitis caused by a torn ligament.  I have not torn my ligament.  I assume with a couple days rest and some ice the tendon will not be inflamed and I’ll be running again on Tuesday.  Fingers crossed.

Here’s the playlist I was supposed to listen to!  I created a playlist on YouTube for the first time, so I didn’t have link or embed all the videos.  CLICK HERE to get whole playlist.

  • Fuckin Problems – A$AP Rocky
  • You Shook Me All Night Long – AC/DC
  • Ironic – Alanis Morissette
  • Take Me To Church – Hozier
  • One Week – Barenaked Ladies
  • The Bad Touch – Bloodhound Gang
  • You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette
  • Girl All The Bad Guys Want – Bowling for Soup
  • She’s a Rebel – Green Day
  • Non Believer – Crash Kings
  • ‘merican – Descendents
  • Make Up Smeared Eyes – Automatic Loveletter
  • Cleaning Out My Closet – Eminem
  • Dead On Arrival – Fall Out Boy
  • American Idiot – Green Day
  • Come to My Window – Melissa Etheridge
4 thoughts on “5 Miles + A Playlist

  1. Pingback: Sunday Workout Recap | Quitters Never Win

Comments are closed.