Dress Shopping

I went dress shopping last weekend.  It was a weird experience.

As you know, I’m thinking about a cobalt blue dress.  However, I wanted to try on regular wedding gowns.  My reasons were twofold.  1. Try on different silhouettes and see what looks good on me. 2. Be sure that I don’t want a wedding gown.

Turns out, I didn’t exactly accomplish either of those.  I got there and she asked me what type of dress I was looking for, to which I replied that I wasn’t sure.  I know I want straps and something that isn’t tight around the middle. Then she asked me my budget.  I said around a thousand.  I would much rather pay $300, but I didn’t think I could get away with trying on the ballgowns I wanted without saying up to a thousand.  Turns out they were having a sample sale.  All samples were half off.  Turns out I’m also a sample size when it comes to wedding dresses.  I’ll admit that was pretty cool because almost everything I tried on fit.  Minimal clamps and bungee cords required.

I didn’t like any of the more ethereal, flowy dresses I tried on.  Which does make me nervous about ordering the blue dress I have in mind.  BUT, I think, in white, they were just boring.  And none had the neckline I want.  (I’m all about poor grammar today, it seems.  I can hear my teachers yelling that you can’t start sentences with buts and ands.)

Samples sales are high pressure situations.  You have to act fast or you lose out.  The salesperson kept reminding me of that, but I wan’t planning on buying a dress that day anyway.  It still did make me nervous when I found two I loved….on sale for $800 each.  I left feeling more confused about what I should wear than when I walked in, but I had a few solid takeaways:

  • I hate ruching.
  • I love v-necks, but many wedding gowns don’t come in v-neck.
  • You can add straps to anything…
  • …but it might look really out of place.
  • Lace is okay in certain deployments.
  • Sparkle is not.
  • Ball gowns look great on me.
  • But they felt too big for the venue.
  • Trying on wedding dresses makes you sweaty.
  • I do not like being the center of attention.
  • Especially when I know the dresses look great, but I’m still not sure if I want them.
  • Other people’s expectations freak me out.
  • My bridesmaids are awesome and supportive and pushy (vs. saleswoman) when they need to be.
  • Some dresses look like fungus.
  • I don’t think I can spend $1000 on something that doesn’t feel like me.

At the end of the day, wedding dresses are beautiful.  And I looked beautiful in them (too cocky?).  But I felt like I was playing dress up, and that’s maybe not how I want to feel on my wedding day.

I’m going to David’s Bridal to try on some cheaper dresses, because I think my opinion may have been a little swayed by that (I can wear a blue dress for $300 or a white dress for $1000…no contest).  But I’m leaning towards the nontraditional.

2 thoughts on “Dress Shopping

  1. Really? A cobalt blue dress? Cool and different.
    I love you so much. “Some dresses feel like fungus” lol!!! Good luck! I can’t wait to see you in your dress!

Comments are closed.