Weight Loss Journey – More than running

Running started as a way for me to lose weight. It was cardio I could do outside before work when I couldn’t afford a gym membership. It worked for awhile.

But then I fell in love with running, and all my energy and focus went to improving that, and away from losing weight. That’s how I gained 7 pounds over the last year. That and eating really delicious (err…disgusting) food. Now that my half marathon is over, my goals are shifting to weight loss and getting in shape.

But, you ran a half marathon, aren’t you in shape?

Yeah, I guess I’m physically fit, and probably have pretty strong legs, hips, glutes, etc. but I don’t like the way I look. I never, ever wear anything tight over my lower belly. I’m short and relatively in shape, so everyone assumes I’m skinny. And, I suppose I am, but part of it is dressing well. I would look 3 months pregnant in a form fitting dress without the right undergarments. Yes, I know you could say this about most women and I know that I’m probably not making any friends by talking like this, but I wanted to share my insecurities.

I love my tattoos, my muscle-y arms, my jacked calves, and most of all my butt (there is no amount of weight I can gain or lose that would make my butt look bad – it’s awesome).  Sometimes I have a lot of self confidence (just read the last parenthetical note), but sometimes I hate what I see when I look down.

I want to like what I see and fit into this badass yellow skinny jeans that fit me amazingly well when FH and I started dating.  It might be a pipe dream.  It might sound shallow.  But this is my blog and I can write about whatever I want, so here goes.

I updated my lifestyle in My Fitness Pal from Sedentary to Lightly Active and entered exercise plans of 4 days per week, 30 minutes per session.  My calorie goal increased from 1200 to 1330.  Unless I do a really long run, I’m not going to log my exercise.  It ends up with my day to day diet yo-yo-ing.  On days I didn’t run, I could only have 1200 calories, but days I did, I could have 1600.  While I know that is technically accurate, it makes it difficult to create diet habits.  Now, any calorie burn less than 400 calories doesn’t get logged.  That way I can consistently focus on eating the same amount everyday.

I also took my measurements for the first time (used this blog post to learn how).  Here are the stats as of July 11:

  • Weight: 137 lbs
  • Chest: 32″
  • Waist: 32″
  • Hips: 36.5″
  • Thighs: 22″

And here is my week 0 progress pictures.  Looking at and posting these is actually harder than I thought it would be.  I didn’t know I looked like that.  Stripped of flattering clothes, flexing muscles, and sucking it in.  My back was the most surprising part.  I hope that this is the impetus I need to make a change; I hope what I feel right now leads to something positive.

 

Week0

5 thoughts on “Weight Loss Journey – More than running

  1. Pingback: Sunday Runday 8/9 – WEEK 3 | Quitters Never Win

  2. Pingback: Sunday Runday 8/2 | Quitters Never Win

  3. Pingback: Sunday Runday 7/26 | Quitters Never Win

  4. Pingback: Work Out Plan | Quitters Never Win

Comments are closed.