Five Thing Friday

  1. House Update: WE CLOSE NEXT WEDNESDAY!!!  Woohoo!!!  Wrote our last rent check ever this week.  My life and free time is about to be turned upside down.  Painting, fixing, buying, packing, moving…all with a vacation sandwiched in the middle.  Holy cow.
  2. At work, we’re really starting to focus on unconscious bias and education about racism.  It’s been disheartening and fascinating and educational and painful.  I thought I would share some sources:
    1. TED Talk – Allegories on Race & Racism – 20 minutes – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNhcY6fTyBM
    2. What is Privilege? – 4 minutes – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNhcY6fTyBM
    3. Unconscious Bias tests (what are your unconscious biases?  becoming conscious of them is half the battle) – https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/takeatest.html
  3. Less heavy topic at work, BURRITO BOATS!  These are the best tortillas I’ve ever had!wpid-img_20150723_120000_852.jpg
  4. I met up with a high school friend last night who I haven’t seen in a few years (even though we only live a few towns apart!).  It was as if no time had passed.  I drank this delicious IPA (not very grapefruit-y, but good nonetheless):

    wpid-img_20150723_183813_809.jpg

    neither this, nor the burrito bowl, was good for my calorie goals…

  5. One of our topics of conversation was running.  She ran her first half last year and is signing up for 1 or 2 in October.  Long story short, I think I may be signing up for the Baystate Half Marathon.  More to come!
