Hello Fresh Review

Hello Fresh is another ingredient + recipe delivery service.  It’s priced the same as the others (see my reviews of Blue Apron and Plated) at $70 per week, which includes 3 meals of 2 serving sizes each.

I got 3 free meals in a promotion sent by Rue La La.  I also had a discount for Blue Apron, which I had scheduled for delivery the week we moved into the condo.  I then scheduled Hello Fresh the following week – we didn’t have to buy groceries for 2 weeks!

The Hello Fresh box arrived on time, and each meal was separately packaged in it’s own little box, which was both adorable and practical.  We didn’t have to figure out which onion goes with which meal.

See? 3 individual boxes within the box!

Hello Fresh gives you the option to choose your meals from a list of 5 or 6 the week before, but they never emailed me about that option (or about my delivery, for that matter).  I only found out about it after the deadline when I logged into my account to see what I was getting – it still didn’t tell me which meals off the weekly menu were going to be delivered, which was a little frustrating.

The selection ended up being good, though.  Chicken fajitas, steak salad and blackened catfish.  All were really tasty.  Here’s the chicken fajitas:

homemade guac

homemade pico de gallo

chicken

peppers and stuff that cook with the chicken

Out of the 3 meal delivery services, I’d rate Hello Fresh third.  Their website is a little more difficult to navigate and the recipes aren’t really unique.  The food was good, but it was all stuff I’d make on my own.  For $70 a week, I want to try new ingredients and interesting pairings, which Blue Apron and Plated both give you (remember the hops flowers in the cheese sauce??  OMG SO GOOD).  Chicken fajitas?  Yeah, they taste good, but I can make that myself for half the cost.

