Sunday Runday 10/4

Casualties this week = hamstring, knee, hip, arches, cell phone.  Another week of not following my prescribed training plan or my PT.  My goal for my 2nd half marathon was to be prepared.  To do a full training plan.  To get faster.  To train the “right” way.  Well, it hasn’t happened.

The one positive thing I can see from my training is that I recovered much quicker after my long run this week.  I assumed 12 miles would make me feel the same way I did after the half when it was painful to get out of bed.  I don’t know if it’s the increased training this round, the yoga right after, or having to walk the dog, but I feel much better.  I really do need to solve this hip issue though.  It kicks up any time I surpass ~10 miles.  I know it’s my gait, but my 3 different pairs of shoes don’t fix it, so I must need to really increase my hip strength.

SUMMARY

  • RUNNING: 2 days, 15 miles X 
  • PHYSICAL THERAPY: 2 days
  • WORK OUTS: 2 

WORKOUTS

  • Monday 9/28 – nothing
  • Tuesday 9/29 – 3.3 mile run, 11:05 pace – Terrifying to think of running 13.1 miles while 3.3 feels like death.
  • Wednesday 9/30 – nothing
  • Thursday 10/1 –  PT
  • Friday 10/2 – 12 mile run, 11:34 pace + YogaMy phone reset itself again.  I think my time was 2 hours and 20 minutes.  Despite the fact that it was raining the whole time, the first 6 miles were awesome.  Then I had to do them again (I mapped a double loop in prep for the half marathon route).  That’s when my left knee and hamstring started hurting.  Then my right hip.  Then the bottom of my feet.  I know I can run the half, but I’m pretty sure I could never do a full marathon, given all these random pains.
  • Saturday 10/3 – STRETCH
  • Sunday 10/4 – PT

GOALS:

Half marathon training – 2 miles Monday, 4 Wednesday, 3 Thursday, 5 Saturday. 

3 PT + 3 Yoga + Foam Rolling – Upping the ante on yoga because my hips and hamstrings are plotting against me.

