Race Recap: Baystate Half Marathon

Before the half marathon…

The Future In Laws (FILs) were in town this weekend.  Saturday, instead of stretching and eating healthy, I was in a car for a few hours heading up to Plymouth, NH to tour a few breweries.  I definitely got day drunk at Smuttynose (best brewery tour I’ve been on by far) and ate way too much cheesy, fried food.

I also came down with a cold on Wednesday that just kept getting worse, so that by Saturday and Sunday I had a constantly dry, scratchy throat and a cough.

The morning of the half, I only ate an english muffin with peanut butter and totally forgot to eat the Luna bar I had packed.

selfie sent to my grammy so she knew what I was wearing

I also spent 40 minutes in line for the port-a-potties in 30 degrees Fahrenheit wearing nothing but my racing outfit.  Brrrrr.

FH and Reba got up at 4:30AM to drive me since they recommended I get there 90 minutes early for packet pick up.  They lied.  They weren’t even ready, yet.  I won’t freak out about time ever again.


On to the race…

With my cold working against me, I only aimed to get at least as good as my last one (2:39), so I lined up in the 12 minute pace.  My friend had PR’d 2 weeks before with a 2:17, so I told her I’d see her at the finish, probably 10 minutes after her, thinking that she’d be a little slower having just run one 2 weeks ago.

My other goal was to run 2 miles at a time, breaking to walk a bit after each 2 mile stint.  Well, when I hit 2 miles, I had more in me, so I went on to 4 and then walked for a minute.  It was practically too cold to walk and walking induced coughing anyway.  Somehow my cough didn’t appear when I was running.  Between the cold and my cough, stopping to walk wasn’t all it’s cracked up to be, so I figured since I had done 4 miles straight, I could do another 4 and aimed to walk again at mile 8.  That worked, so then I went for mile 11 (ya know, to give myself a little bit of a break).

But, I saw my dad and my grandmother around mile 10 and I needed some fuel (I cannot chew and run at the same time), so I stopped to chat with them for a minute while I ate 2 honey stinger energy chews (more than 2 at a time upsets my stomach).  With that stop around 10, I went ahead to mile 12.

The course is a really flat course, but there’s a stretch around mile 5 and 11 (it’s a double loop) that has a STEEP camber that was really fucking with my hips and there was no way around it.  Oh well.

I made it to mile 12, had lots of gatorade and water, walked my longest stretch yet and then started anew with determination to run the last mile.  In my last half, I hit a wall around 10 and ended up walking most of the last 3 miles.  I knew it was mostly mental.  I was capable of running, but couldn’t make myself because I was almost done (I know that’s faulty logic).  So this time I was really determined.  And I did!  I ran the last bit and cut 24 minutes off my previous time!!!!!!!!  halfClocking in at 2:15:04.  With negative splits no less!  IDK why this gives you your 3.5 mile time and 9.8 mile time, but I just did the math and my pace went from ~11 min/mile to ~10 min/mile to just under 10.  Woohoo!  Funny part was, my friend PR’d again at 2:05…and I came in exactly 10 minutes after her as I predicted.

Oh, BTW, I coughed for approximately 10 minutes after I crossed the finish line, like my body was just waiting for me to be done.  I also feel like ass today.  Not the best thing for a chest cold/sore throat/cough.

A day later, my just desserts (aka free birthday sundae from J.P.Licks) = Pumpkin Custard + Cream Stout Ice Cream + Oatmeal Cookie topping + Marshmallow sauce

 

 

8 thoughts on “Race Recap: Baystate Half Marathon

  1. Pingback: Sunday Runday 10/25 | Quitters Never Win

Comments are closed.