I don’t have professional hair :(

I’ve always gone from long hair to pixie cuts and then back long again. It takes so long to grow out, though, that most of my adult professional life I’ve had somewhere between a pixie and a long bob. Those and everything in between usually don’t have a lot of styling options. It’s one way or the highway.

I’ve resisted the urge to go full Anne Hathaway again because I’m getting married in 10 months and want an updo. Now, I find myself for the first time in my life with long hair and I have no idea what to do with it. Blow drying results in a nice shape and body, but lots of little frizzies and broken pieces, so I have to flat iron the outermost layer. Flat ironing means it needs to be REALLY dry. Like really, really. I try to cheat sometimes and the * singe * is enough to deter me (also probably the cause of half the frizzies). Needless to say, I don’t have time to do this most mornings.

And what do I do with my hair when I don’t have time? Why, a messy bun, of course! As cute as it looks and as easy as it is, I keep getting the feeling that it’s very unprofessional. I’ve tried regular buns, but I feel like I’m a 10-year-old wearing her mom’s suit and pearls trying to look like an adult. Maybe to other people I actually just look like a professional adult, but I can’t exude confidence if I’m not feeling it.

Today, I have it half up with a clip. That feels mature, but it’s not super flattering, nor is it much less time intensive than leaving it down. It still needs blowdrying and product and straightening, albeit only on the lower half.

You might suggest low pony tail, but those always look flat, or bushy, or mousy. High ponytails only look good when my hair is already blow dried and has cute swoopy motions. If it dries in a high ponytail, it ends up flat and stiff like an actual pony’s tail.

Based on my Pinterest searches, I think I need to learn how to braid and use bobby pins. Bobby pins are grown up, right?

Or just suck it up and blow dry and straighten my hair every morning…whomp whomp.

