Review: Living Proof

I bought this sampler pack after the holidays for $32: Happy Hair Days Kit.  I had tried something by Living Proof before and hated it, but I wanted to try again.  Chalk it up to the allure of Jennifer Aniston.

Shampoo and Conditioner:  I can’t decide if I like the smell of this product or the feel of my hair after.  However, it’s the first time my hair has air-dried in a half decent state of frizz.  Like, I just left it down, air dried some days.  Without a flat iron.  I think that’s a win right there.  (Well, until I saw the real size shampoo and conditioner cost $50 together…uhhhhmmmm…FUCK NO).

5-in-1 Styling Treatment: On first use, I used way too much and my hair felt waxy.  It did, however, blow dry amazingly well.  Way better than any Bumble & Bumble product I’ve used.  Here’s a picture with NO straightening.  You can see that it’s smoother and better shaped than the above picture of just airdrying with no styling treatment.

My subsequent applications were smaller amounts that didn’t leave my hair feeling waxy, but they also didn’t work as well.  So, I guess if you’re okay with waxy hair, this stuff works great!  Haha

Night Cap Overnight Protector:  The sample of this was only enough for one use, which I don’t think was enough for a real review.  It was a little too watery, which made it difficult to apply.  Though I was dubious about sleeping with something so oily/moisturizing in my hair, I threw my hair in a bun, and that was fine.  BUT, and it’s a big but, I didn’t notice any difference in the morning.  Perhaps if I had only rinsed it out, and not shampooed?

Dry Shampoo:  It works.  Certainly better than Garnier Nutrisse (left my hair feeling sticky and dirty).  About as good as I think baby powder works.  What can I say?  I’m easy to please.

