Update on Counting Calories

“The truth is, if I were going to lose weight successfully, I would have to think about what I eat constantly. I cannot imagine a life more boring and a more time-consuming obsession than being preoccupied with watching what I eat. I mean, maybe being in a coma would be more boring, but at least then you’re free to dream about all of your favorite foods.”

~ Mindy Kaling, Why Not Me?

I read Mindy Kaling’s latest book, Why Not Me?, last week and I really related to the quote above.  I fucking hate counting my calories, but if I’m going to do this, that’s what I have to do.  I guess the question is, what’s more important?  Living my life or being skinny?

When I put it that way, it sounds ridiculous to choose being skinny.  What’s more important?  Saving myself 5 minutes of tedious work a day or being healthy?  That certainly changes the perspective.

I still really wish that I could choose to care less about my appearance because thinking about what I eat constantly is fucking boring.

Anyway, when I wrote about tracking calories a few weeks ago, I pointed out that when I include exercise to offset my calorie intake it results in a yo-yo diet that’s hard to keep, because it’s so inconsistent.  However, I’ve found the past two weeks, that it’s really hard to not eat a TON after I run or take a class and burn 200-400 calories.  I’m starving.  And I need to eat.

So, now I’m not sure what the right answer is.  For a little bit, I will log my exercise and track my net calories (so total calories consumed less extra calories burned) and see how that works.

 

