Tattoo Chronicles: #4 and #5

I just realized I never finished my tattoo postings, not that anyone’s asking, but I don’t like leaving loose ends. I also need something to write about, because most of the stuff I want to write about, I don’t want to write about in a public forum.  So, here we are with my most recent two tattoos.


Tree of Life, 2010

20160322_1826210.jpg

This was my present to myself for completing undergrad.  It took 3 sittings, 9 hours, and $1000.  It’s an oak tree, which is the tree of life.  But the real symbolism is in the knots and the acorns (the sunset’s just pretty).  There are 2 knots in the tree truck which represent tough times in my life, 2 bad relationships actually, 1 parental, 1 romantic/abusive.  The point of it all is that every bad thing that you survive, everything that happens to you that you get through and keep going….well, it makes you who you are.  Just as the knots mar the bark of the tree forever, but do not stop it from growing, our experiences impact who we are forever.  They become a part of us.  We don’t forget them and we don’t dwell on them; we use them to become a better person.

The acorns, in relationship to the tree of life, are supposed to represent unharvested potential because they bear the tree of life.  To me, unharvested potential = future success.  That’s what I’m counting on, at least!  I also learned soon after I got this that acorns are called tree nuts.  I had no idea.


Quote, 2012

20160322_182731.jpg

I really wanted this quote somewhere.  I guess it’s just another of the ‘life goes on’ motif.  And I really wanted a stomach tattoo, mostly because they look fucking badass [like Travis Barker].  My ex wasn’t super keen on the stomach tattoo, not that that mattered too much, but when we broke up, this was my cathartic, independent woman, thing.

I went to the same artist who did my tree, since I wanted to go to someone I trusted if he was gonna have his hands all up in my business.  Seriously, while he was doing it, one elbow was in my [lack of] cleavage and the other, the one holding the tattoo gun, was in my crotch.  The vibrations from the tattoo gun made that extra awkward.


 

See past posts here…

Tattoo 1

Tattoo 2

Tattoo 3

