Where should I do my 1st marathon?

Despite the fact that I’m currently sidelined from 2 mile runs with thigh pain, I think I want to do a 26 point 2 mile run. Now, which one?

First of all, I’m getting married in October. I do not want to be training for a marathon while I’m planning and preparing for a wedding. Two weeks on a honeymoon would majorly interrupt training, too, even though I assume I’d have a killer body for the beach. Those factors rule out any fall/winter 2016 marathons. I don’t want to go right from honeymoon to marathon training, so that rules out Spring 2017 marathons. Since I hate running in the heat, I’ve mostly settled on Fall 2017. FH (Future Husband…though he’ll just be H by that point) mentioned we could combine this with a 1 year anniversary trip, so that opens up my options, location-wise.  Thus, I’ve compiled a list of a wide variety of races to choose from.  Most I can’t register for until fall 2016 anyway, so I have plenty of time to decide.


Las Vegas Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon – November 2017

  • Pros: For starters, VEGAS BABY! Fun environment. It’s at night, so it will be cool out + no sun burns!
  • Cons: I’m not sure if there are any!  I guess that I’ll have to fly there, and there’s a time difference and staying there a few days will be mad expensive.  Nevermind, I found a con.  The marathon cut off is 5 hours.  I’m not really sure at all that I could do this under 5 hours.

Seattle Beat the Blerch Marathon – September 2017

  • Pros: I really want to visit Seattle.  This event seems really relaxed, not competitive.  It’s inspired by a comic strip for fuck’s sake!  There are couches along the way AND cake (yes, there’s motherfucking cake) at every aid station.  AND this one’s course doesn’t close for 7 hours.  That sounds doable.
  • Cons: FH does not want to go to Seattle, because “what’s there to do in Seattle”?  I guess my answer is, “RUN A MARATHON”?  lol  Obvi, there’s flights and jet lag here, as well.

Seattle Marathon – November 2017

  • Pros: Have I mentioned I really want to visit Seattle?  There’s beer at the end.  No cake, though.  But probably more organized than the Beat the Blerch?
  • Cons: “Rolling course with hilly sections”

Vermont City Marathon – May 2017

  • Pros: Only a few hours drive.  Cute town for a long weekend.  Clover shaped course means spectators don’t have to move, but still see you 4 times!
  • Cons: It’s in the spring, so I would have to have a solid base leading up to the wedding, and would have to start training immediately after.  I don’t even know if I’ll have the base by then with how my thigh is.

Upstate New York Wineglass Marathon – Oct. 1, 2017

  • Pros: Driving distance.  Wine!  7 hours to finish.
  • Cons: This is WAY out in NY, so driving distance actually means 6.5 hours.  Upstate NY is not the most exciting destination.

Mount Desert Island Marathon – October 2017

  • Pros: Driving distance (at least more so than NY above…this one is 4.5 hours).  Nice weekend getaway.  8 hour course (plenty of time to die and come back to life!)
  • Cons: I still don’t understand why the name of this island contains the word desert.  Sounds like there are a lot of hills and Mile 25 is the highest point…uhhh…yuck.

Le Marathon Du Medoc – September 2017

  • Pros: France.  Wine.  Cheese.  Is this not the coolest marathon, ever?  And probably beautiful running through the vineyards.
  • Cons: France. Wine. Cheese.  Yes, wine and cheese at the fueling stations sounds awesome, and they have regular gatorade, water, etc. as well.  But, I don’t think I’d stop myself from the wine and cheese, which would probably have some poor results.  I’m also pretty sure I don’t want my first marathon to be overseas.  Jet lag + language barriers would make for a stressful, confusing start for an already anxious me.

Chicago Marathon – October 2017

  • Pros: Iconic marathon.  Easier to get into than Boston.  City that both FH and I really want to visit.
  • Cons: 40,000 runners.  On one hand, it means it’s well organized.  On the other hand, it’s totally overwhelming and much ado about nothing (‘nothing’ being my 5-6 hour run).

San Francisco Marathon – July 2017

  • Pros: Another iconic location.  You get to run through the major neighborhoods and over the Golden Gate Bridge.  That’s pretty fucking cool.
  • Cons: Long flights, time difference, that it’s in JULY.  But I think SF’s weather is a little more even keeled than the rest of the country, no?

There you have it!  My list of possible marathons!!!  Now, I just have to narrow it down.  Honestly, while I like the idea of destination races, I’m leaning towards something closer to home for a few reasons.  1. I might be able to get someone to run it with me if it’s close to home.  2. I may not be up to exploring and doing things afterwards, so that would be a waste of a vacation.  3. What if I don’t finish?  Break my leg?  Pass out?  And we traveled all that way and paid all that money for a trip to the hospital.

One thought on “Where should I do my 1st marathon?

  1. I’d go with the “Le Marathon Du Medoc” but that’s just because I really like running in nature-like environment with lots of plants. It let’s me space out while running. Considering you aren’t quite sure what to take because of training on a irregular schedule I’d pick one that at least capable of finishing without too great difficulty. There are also so many choices I’d suffer from analysis paralysis maybe try trimming some options first!

Comments are closed.