Blisters!

I’ve got another blister. Well, really, the original blister has returned. I’m not quite sure it ever went away.  And here I thought I was on my way to being injury free.

game of thrones movies television 4 sansa stark

After that first stabbing pain in the bottom of my foot, I bought NexCare blister bandaids, which proved amazing. They stay on for 3 days at a time, through running and showers, and the cushion the blister so that it doesn’t hurt [almost] at all. I am sort of considering wearing them all the time just to prevent blisters, but that doesn’t seem wise economically.  So, I’ve been researching the shit out of blisters.

I believe that mine was originally caused by a combination of too-big sneakers (lots of friction from my foot moving around) and old socks (not as moisture wicking anymore…though I’m not sure that actually happens…IDK).  Here are some things I’ve learned about preventing them.

  • Equipment = good fitting shoes and socks!  Specifically, anti-blister socks.  I don’t know if good socks lose their good qualities over time, but I think mine have.  From here on out I’m tossing any that come out of the dryer with that stiff feeling and/or lost elasticity.
    • Other things that I’m probably not doing = double layer of socks increases moisture absorption and reduces friction, orthotic insoles, engo patches which adhere to the spot in your shoe that is causing the blister (but I already got rid of the shoes that I think caused it)
  • Skin = There are tons of things you can do here.  I haven’t tried any, yet, but I plan to.
    • Antiperspirants or astringents applied before the run to make sure the skin is dry and stays dry.
    • Applying lubricant before the run (doesn’t that seem counter-intuitive given the above bullet??) to reduce friction.
    • Taping the whole area, but that sounds very time consuming for a 2 mile run.
    • Hydration.  The better hydrated you are the less your feet will swell.  Yeah that one sounds like a long shot, but it’s good for me anyway.
    • Additionally, moisturizing your skin will help reduce blisters, similar to the lubricant idea.  This one will be easy to implement.
  • Running form = I did read that changes to running form can cause blisters because your skin is used to/strengthened for your current stride.  This one is particularly interesting, since I’ve been doing lunges to improve my form ever since meeting with that running coach.

In the meantime, I’m keeping this baby covered for the next week or so, until I can’t see it anymore at all.

 

2 thoughts on “Blisters!

Comments are closed.