Five Thing Friday 4/29

  1. I have an unhealthy obsession with the songs “Love Yourself” and “Sorry” by Justin Bieber. I also have a completely healthy, rational hatred for Justin Bieber. I feel like my soul is deserting me every time I sing along wholeheartedly to his songs. But I just can’t help myself. To this end, I’ve been listening to AMP radio nonstop at work, and now know a whole host of super annoying songs. Oi vey. I don’t know who I am anymore.
  2. Tracking calories is hard.  It’s even harder when someone else is doing the cooking.  FH cooked 4 nights this week, for which I am totally grateful and everything was delicious.  BUT, he made vietnamese pork belly for 2 nights and then bacon lasagna for 2 nights.  Ummm, yeah, not so great with weight loss goals.  I have to starve myself all day just to be able to eat dinner.
  3. I bought new running shoes!  And I actually like them!  Yay!  Here are my Brooks Ravenna kicks: I got them at DSW for $70.  I had to try them on in stores because the website said I needed a size 8.5 and I know running shoes are supposed to be bigger, but too big and you get blisters from all the moving around.  When I tried them on, the size 8 was perfect, plenty of room to wiggle my toes, but fit the rest of my food comfortably snug.  I’ve run in them once so far and the feel springy and light (only 8.8 oz!), but still really supportive.
  4. Also while I was at DSW, there was an older woman looking for support sneakers.  The salesperson pointed to the entire row of Asics and said, “These are all support shoes, doctor recommended.”  She proceeded to say that the variations between all the different versions were mostly just the different colors.  Ummm…NO.  I know from my own injuries in accidentally buying a Neutral Asics shoe, instead of a Support version, that THEY ARE NOT ALL SUPPORT SHOES.  Fucking idiot.
  5. I forgot to put on my FitBit after a shower last week, and I haven’t put it on since.  My wrist feels totally naked and I remembered that I have a birthmark on my wrist which I haven’t seen in years.  I don’t feel a sense of freedom that I thought I would, not being beholden to the step count, but it also wasn’t influencing my behavior.  If I ran, I made it to 10K steps.  If I didn’t run that day, I was probably under my goal.  Since I already track my running, that’s a pretty good barometer.  It really wasn’t making me walk any more.  I do feel like walking doesn’t “count” anymore, though.
One thought on “Five Thing Friday 4/29

  1. Firstly, i hear you on the Biebs…I mean how did he get good?! And secondly, i looooove those new trainers. I bought them actually just before my marathon but they weren’t quite the right fit for me. I love having new running shoes though, definitely helps with the motivation!

Comments are closed.