Injuries Suck

I’ve written about tendinitis before. It fucking blows. I think it was about 2 years ago when I went to an orthopedist because I had distinct, acute pain in my ankle and shins that turned out to be cured by 2 months off from running and work with a physical therapist.

Then it was about a year and a half ago when I went back to the same orthopedist because I had pain on the bottom of my foot. That time I had actually torn a ligament, but the pain was caused by the tendinitis flare up caused by the torn ligament. Another few months of PT and all better! Right?

Wrong. Months of PT with an ongoing mandate – If you want to continuing running, you will always need to do PT.

Well, guess what I’ve been pretty shit at doing lately? PT. And guess where I was last night? On the couch eating ice cream instead of being at boot camp because it hurts to take every. single. step.

It’s the same tendinitis pain from when I sprained my ankle (I’m assuming without the torn ligament, and just because of the 10 mile run). This is going to require PT every day and rest, for at least a few weeks. All that with a half marathon in 7 weeks. And I can’t blame anybody, but myself. I was doing PT maybe once a week. Fuck me.

3 thoughts on “Injuries Suck

  1. Pingback: Sunday Runday 10/16 | Quitters Never Win

  2. Pingback: Sunday Runday 10/16 | Quitters Never Win

  3. Ugh I’m so sorry tohear you’re feeling the pain still. I hear you on it. I think I’m gonna have to pull out of next week’s marathon because of shin/calf/achilles tendonitis- everything is so painful that I don’t even want to run (and i’m usually always that person who stupidly runs through the pain). I hope you feel better soon. PT absolutely sucks but once you get into the swing of things it’s definitely worth it. One thing my physio does (which is really useful) is to give me one or two key exercises to focus on, instead of a whole load, since he believes it makes you more likely to do them. Maybe ask your PT which ones to prioritize, for on days when you really don’t have the energy to do the whole load. Just a thought. Anyway, hope you feel 100% soon! x

Comments are closed.