Last Day

Hey everyone! It’s been forever since I wrote an actual post.  One thing that I haven’t shared, for obvious reasons, is that I have been looking for a new job for about a year and a half.  It has been a real struggle with the mismatch between my 6+ years of experience and what I want to do.

Generally, I’ve been pretty good at things my whole life. I’ve been a mostly straight-A student and a star employee. This constant struggle of not being good enough, not being recognized for my accomplishments, constant rejection really was getting to me. I’m 30 years old. I was reluctant to “start over” on my career, but I was at the point where I was looking at internships just to get some experience applying the concepts I learned in my Masters program.

A few weeks before the wedding, I stopped applying to jobs because I didn’t want to be dealing with interviews and phone calls on my honeymoon, and I certainly didn’t want to miss out on something that may have presented itself as a possibility. The very last job I applied to before I stopped, contacted me for a phone interview, then an in-person interview about 2 weeks before the wedding.

I ended up getting an offer at 2pm on Wednesday 9/27 – my last day at work before 2 1/2 weeks off….AND I planned to leave at 4pm. Within those 2 hours I negotiated a start date that was 5 weeks in the future, put in my 4.5 week notice (2.5 of those were personal days for the wedding and honeymoon) and told my team.

Then I left, packed for the wedding, and kept forgetting that I got a new job. It was like a brain orgasm (braingasm? is that a thing? do people say that?) every time I remembered.

Today is my last day at the place I’ve been working for over 6 years. It’s not too hard to say goodbye, though. My office has been decimated by budget cuts, bureaucratic pandering. Every director has left in the past 4 months, including my two best work friends. There’s nothing left for me to learn here and a world of things to learn in my new position.  <— That makes it a little scary.  I’m an authority here on a lot of subjects.  For the first time in a looooooong time, I will have NO IDEA what I’m talking about.

ME…for the next few weeks:

beyonce new girl queen bey blue ivy best job

